Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent base...I rocks this in beans as well as sauce. Tricked it out with fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice GrillMaster Burt
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
there is never any cooking involved in sofrito...you must not be familiar with it. You add sofrito to cooked dishes such as beans, corned beef (PRican syle), and chicken...the list goes on and on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was THE BEST sofrito recipe! Sometimes I add red tomatoes and use less peppers or add some cilantro. Yummy on soups, beans and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Worked great for me, ended up using it in both arroz con pollo and black beans, very tasty. BTW, you don't cook Sofrito until you are ready to put it into a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Every caribbean family has their own version of Sofrito. Pixelsicle's version contains all the basic ingredients. Great tip on the ice cube freezing - helps you portion it perfectly. I'm not sure what the the reviews are referring to "cooking", there are some people who roast the peppers to give the sofrito more flavor. But yes, the sofrito is used when cooking your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I usually add cilantro,culantro,some ajicitos when i do mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Absolutely WONDERFUL base Pixelsicle!!! We (Arecibo, PR) use the above ingredients (Excluding the chilli peppers), plus cilantro, recao (Culantro leaf/ves),ajices dulce (Sweet peppers: looks like a jabanero but flatter looking and NOT spicy) and absolutely NO tomato (For longer freezer life). I guess different parts of the Island make it different. Some more simpler than others. ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
There is no cooking involved. No combining of the ingredients through heat. This is more of a cold salsa recipe. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Harissa

See how to make Chef John’s all-time favorite hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States