Sofrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I usually add cilantro,culantro,some ajicitos when i do mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Absolutely WONDERFUL base Pixelsicle!!! We (Arecibo, PR) use the above ingredients (Excluding the chilli peppers), plus cilantro, recao (Culantro leaf/ves),ajices dulce (Sweet peppers: looks like a jabanero but flatter looking and NOT spicy) and absolutely NO tomato (For longer freezer life). I guess different parts of the Island make it different. Some more simpler than others. ;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Excellent base...I rocks this in beans as well as sauce. Tricked it out with fresh cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice B.
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was THE BEST sofrito recipe! Sometimes I add red tomatoes and use less peppers or add some cilantro. Yummy on soups, beans and meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mcintyreknox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Every caribbean family has their own version of Sofrito. Pixelsicle's version contains all the basic ingredients. Great tip on the ice cube freezing - helps you portion it perfectly. I'm not sure what the the reviews are referring to "cooking", there are some people who roast the peppers to give the sofrito more flavor. But yes, the sofrito is used when cooking your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
there is never any cooking involved in sofrito...you must not be familiar with it. You add sofrito to cooked dishes such as beans, corned beef (PRican syle), and chicken...the list goes on and on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Worked great for me, ended up using it in both arroz con pollo and black beans, very tasty. BTW, you don't cook Sofrito until you are ready to put it into a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
There is no cooking involved. No combining of the ingredients through heat. This is more of a cold salsa recipe. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Jamaican Fried Snapper

See how to make a flavorful fried fish, Jamaica-style.

How to Fire-Roast Peppers

See how to fire-roast peppers on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States