Soda Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I must have done something wrong with this recipe because these did not taste good at all. They have a very strong bitter after taste and they taste too much like baking soda. The dough itself is very bland. The only thing I changed was soy milk for buttermilk. Everything else I followed to the dot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
this recipe was delicious!! our whole family loved it!! I used all all-purpose flour and I substituted the honey for maple syrup because I didn't have any around, it turned out AWESOME. loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Had to add a little extra water to the dough but they turned out delicious. We served them with soup and the whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Not bad, but needs improvement. Will go back to soda pretzels
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I saw the mustard in my fridge and knew I needed some instant pretzel gratification. This recipe is very quick and works well. I easily veganized them using apple cider vinegar and almond milk in place of the buttermilk and replacing the honey with agave nectar. While they're obviously not the same as soft pretzels made with yeast, they are very good (and so much faster when you really want a pretzel) and I will certainly get a lot of use out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
These are Delicious! And fast too! Its okay to use all purpose flour instead of whole wheat. I suggest when making it with whole wheat flour, you should add a little more honey to it to give it a little more flavor or else it just ends up with a plain taste. You don't need to add extra honey if you're using all purpose flour. Also, I just made the buttermilk with vinegar and milk. Overall, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I read the other reviews and was skeptical but I had a craving at 2am that I could not ignore. I searched for a no yeast recipe since i dont have any and while i live in NYC, finding yeast at 2am is a task. I did whisk the buttermilk and my recipe was for 4 so I did 3/4 white flour and 1/4 unbleached whole wheat, I also added unsalted butter and coarse kosher salt after i took them out of the oven. Cooked in 5 minutes and was BETTER than the yeast recipe. Im making more at a reasonable hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I wasn't super impressed with this recipe. They tasted ok, but not really like pretzals, just tasted like a biscuit to me. I could have tried making mine a bit smaller and I might have had more success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
These were so-so, no real pretzel taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States