Soda Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
These were very good, especially considering that they were ready to eat in about 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
It was a fast, easy success! I loved how the instructions didn't require a bread machine. PS- It works perfectly fine if you use all purpose flour for wheat and Karo Corn Syrup for honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Fun and easy to make -- a great quick, hearty snack. I left out the Kosher salt topping and the pretzels were still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Delicious and FAST! I didn't have buttermilk and so I used milk mixed with some vinegar instead. I also used Karo syrup instead of honey. After kneading the dough on my kitchen aid, I formed pretzel sticks. I brushed with milk, sprinkled some with grated parmesan an some with ground pepper before baking. The sticks were delicious! Crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. I did not boil them before I baked them but they turned out fine. These were quick and tasty. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This recipe is awsome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
My whole family really likes these pretzels. They are a great healthy snack. I first made them for my husband for a snack at work but the kids liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I subbed vanilla soy milk for the buttermilk and corn syrup for the honey, because that is what I had on hand. After rolling them, I twisted them around hotdogs and baked them, and they were a huge hit with the hubby and kids. I made two without the hotdogs and they were a little drier but not over dry, and you could tell they were wheat. All in all, an easy, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Awesome recipe when the kids are dying to making pretzels and there's no yeast in the house. Had no buttermilk either so substituted plain yogurt. Awesome. Kids thought it was a little heavy on the wheat flour so I might switch the wheat/white ratio next time. Very, very good though as is in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Fantastic pretzels for the speed of preparation! My girls made these with their cousin this afternoon. These taste great with cinnamon sugar or salt. Used white whole wheat flour along with all-purpose. Texture was not that heavy; I think the trick is not to overknead, also to let sit a few minutes before putting into the oven (to naturally rise a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
For a soda pretzel, it is very good. My daughter made them several times. She got blue honor ribbons at the county and state 4-H fair with this recipe. We used sea salt as the topping. The wheat flour gives it a golden color all throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States