Soda Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I was looking for a pretzel recipe that didn't call for yeast, as I didn't have any, so this worked out splendidly! Also, I didn't have buttermilk so I put 1Tbs lemon juice in the 1c of milk and let it sit while I was boiling and sifting, and it worked just fine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alipookins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I have made multiple pretzel recipes from this site and I always have the same complaint no matter how they taste: They never make a pretzel the same size as the ones you can buy at the mall! I cut this recipe in half because I was making them just for me and I didn't need 12 pretzels. I didn't even get them as big as regular mall pretzels and it only made 2!! So if you are thinking that these will come out making 12 pretzels that are the size of 12 auntie anne's pretzels, you will be disappointed. However, this is true for every pretzel recipe I've ever made. If you actually make them the size they are supposed to be, you will get 12 little pretzels the size of your palm at best. ANYWAY, what I have determined is that no matter what pretzel you try, they always taste the most authentic if they have the baking soda bath. However, you do NOT need so MUCH!! There is always all this baking soda water left over. Cut the amount of soda bath in half at least, if not just a quarter. uncooked dough doesn't soak it up much. Also, this dough is not hard to work with at all, as some people stated. If you brush them with butter half way through baking for a buttery taste. These are OK and will do in a pinch but the yeast ones are more authentic tasting. Find a yeast recipe with a soda bath and you're golden. And bake them on parchment to eliminate sticking to the pan. To compare to something store bought, these are most like SuperPretzel that you can get in the grocery freezer section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These were great but i did make a few modifications. I only had all purpose flour. I brushed them wth melted butter before baking. To make butermilk, add 1T vinegar to a measuring cup ten fill with milk and let sit for 5 minutes. Literally only take 10 minutes to bake! The kids were begging for a snack but I really wanted to make them something different and these were PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
For a soda pretzel, it is very good. My daughter made them several times. She got blue honor ribbons at the county and state 4-H fair with this recipe. We used sea salt as the topping. The wheat flour gives it a golden color all throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanci Sears Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I LOVE soft pretzels, but I can't always drive/walk/bike to a pretzel place, so I tried this recipe. These did the job! The best part about them; they are really easy and fast to make. Delicious! I highly recommend these when you have a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Delicious and FAST! I didn't have buttermilk and so I used milk mixed with some vinegar instead. I also used Karo syrup instead of honey. After kneading the dough on my kitchen aid, I formed pretzel sticks. I brushed with milk, sprinkled some with grated parmesan an some with ground pepper before baking. The sticks were delicious! Crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. I did not boil them before I baked them but they turned out fine. These were quick and tasty. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUN4REGINA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I subbed vanilla soy milk for the buttermilk and corn syrup for the honey, because that is what I had on hand. After rolling them, I twisted them around hotdogs and baked them, and they were a huge hit with the hubby and kids. I made two without the hotdogs and they were a little drier but not over dry, and you could tell they were wheat. All in all, an easy, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Well I just took my first batch out of the oven have to say I'm very disappointed. I did read the other reviews, and some had said the taste gets better after sitting. I hope so - or my dogs will get these for treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
These were alright, but were a bit bland. They also had a slight soda aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Fantastic pretzels for the speed of preparation! My girls made these with their cousin this afternoon. These taste great with cinnamon sugar or salt. Used white whole wheat flour along with all-purpose. Texture was not that heavy; I think the trick is not to overknead, also to let sit a few minutes before putting into the oven (to naturally rise a little).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States