Soda Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I used 3 cups 100% whole wheat flour, instead of the split all-purpose and wheat. Flour rose just fine, and tasted great. I did have a little trouble getting the salt to stick. Next time I may try putting salt on the tray first and place the dough on top of the salt while they rise. Then flip them over before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Even though I was expecting these to be dense, I was not expecting the little pretzel shaped bricks . However, I did butcher the recipe and used all-purpose flour only, milk/vinegar in place of buttermilk, and corn syrup instead of honey. The dough was runny and I had to add a ton of extra flou . By the end they did smell okay, and tasted almost like pretzels... So there's that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I was looking for a recipe that didn't involve yeast. Even though I was hesitant, these were actually really good! I only got 1 before my dad finished the rest, and he's pretty hard to please. I'll keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really yummy!!! I am vegan so I made a few adjustments and only had all purpose flour and instead of buttermilk I combined rice milk and vinegar and I used cornstarch instead of honey :) But it was amazing and came put great and was super fast to make. Thnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I honestly really wanted to like these, being healthier than your typical big, soft pretzel. But these are very dense, very heavy pretzels. On the plus side, these are much quicker to make than your typical yeast pretzel. Adding some dipping mustard did make these a little better, but they just weren't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
We enjoyed these. A quick fix when you're craving soft pretzels! The baking soda/water mixture is WAY to much, and I even halved it to start with. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are pretty good--a nice wheat pretzel! I've been on a pretzel kick lately, & I've always made yeast pretzels, so I thought I'd give this one a shot. A little sweet, and yes, it's dense and heavier than yeast pretzels, but I expected that. One: it has ww flour in it, and two: although baking soda will allow it to rise, any dough made with yeast is lighter in my experience. I used vanilla rice milk (all I had) with a bit of lemon juice instead of the buttermilk. I intended to make 12 pretzels but instead cut out 9 pieces of dough--don't ask me how I managed that piece of wisdom! At any rate, for the reviewers who expect huge pretzels like the mall, don't be fooled by pretzels you make at home. They are never that big! You'd have to make 1 pretzel for every 4-6 pieces of dough! Also, there's no need to use as much water or baking soda as called for in the boiling here. I use a large skillet and just fill about 1/2 way with water, then toss in some baking soda--it works out for me, and you can boil several pretzels at a time that way. You really just want a baking soda bath--as long as water and baking soda are present, you're fine. These are really good with the Clone of a Pretzel Dip, also on this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genkihana
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I really loved this recipe! I used only whole wheat flour and like others did some substitutions for the buttermilk and honey. I was able to use the dough to create some other amazing breads too-one that I filled with salmon and topped with a nori seaweed strip and another that was filled with curry and covered with bread crumbs on the outside. I'm looking forward to creating even more things with this and sharing them with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My daughter and I made this for a little snow day fun. They are easy and yummy. We didn't have wheat flour or buttermilk so I had to substitute since a trip to the store wasn't an option. I thought they still great. We out some of them around hot dogs that we cut in half to see how they would turn out and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Delicious! Has the same flavor as Auntie Ann's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States