Soda Pop Strawberry Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I tried making this recipe twice. I thought I had done something wrong but each time the cake deflated to a dense pancake. My husband did not like the artifical strawberry flavoring from the pop either. This recipe was a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I haven't made this recipe I just wanted to comment. I believe this is the exact same recipe from a Strawberry Shortcake Doll's recipe card. Am I wrong in believing this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This cake is so simple and tasty. Everyone loved it. My husband said it was the best angel food cake he'd ever eaten. I thought the icing was too rich and butter flavored, so I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla and it was great. Also, I used black cherry flavored soda - I think any flavor of carbonated soda you like would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I don't know if I did something wrong but this cake was a complete bust for me. It was SO HEAVY and when I turned it over to let it cool, it flopped out on the counter. Needless to say my husband was rushing to the store to by a pre-made angel food cake, strawberries and whipped cream to celebrate the birthday of our new daughter in law. She enjoyed my thrown together concoction and we all laughed about my mess on the kitchen counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made it without the honey and with Fanta Cream Soda instead. It tasted awesome, it was light and fluffy. It wasn't too sweet either, go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Made this the way the recipe said to, cake fell and didn't rise much. Made it again and omitted the honey, turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Delicious! 4 of us ate the whole cake in one afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
After reading reviews, I made this without the honey---I couldn't see any purpose to using it anyway. It was wonderfully high and light, and having the different flavour was a nice change. I'll try it again with other flavoured beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My daughter made this for the family (5 of us) and we ate the whole thing in one sitting. We did take the advice of others and did not use the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
This is an awesome recipe and has turned into my families favorite cake recipe. I have made it several times and the kids keep wanting more!!! I haven't tried different flavors of soda, but I am sure they will work as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States