Soda Cracker Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This turned out fantastic! I used chopped almonds instead and added 1 Tbsp. Amaretto, 1 tsp. cinnamon and grated some fresh nutmeg in. I also added 2 more crackers to soak up the Amaretto. I then made a raspberry sauce (1 bag frozen raspberries, sugar, corn starch) and poured it on each slice. It was sooooo good. Everyone loved it! They cannot believe that there are simply crackers in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Wonderful homey dessert. I have also made this using blueberry or cherry pie filling as a filling. Try this, even if it sounds strange. You will be amazed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is a great pie. My husband doesn't care for sweet things but loves this pie. I did, however, use 3/4 cup sugar instead of the full cup the second time I made it. With the whipped topping on it, it was plenty sweet without all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I have been searching for this recipe for years! My mom always talked about it and I have been wanting to make it for her but she called it Ritz cracker pie & I couldn't find a recipe! This was great! Everyone loved it! I used walnuts in it and it still gave a great flavor, almost like a pecan pie. A big hit. Thanks so much! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I baked a little on my silpat sheet alongside the pie, filled it with almond whipped cream, then crumbled the extra on top. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good! I made the recipe exactly as written, except I was a couple of saltines short. I substituted vanilla wafers for what I was missing. Easiest pie I have ever made, that's for sure! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney McFadden

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I've been looking for this recipe for 0ver 30 years. I put whipped cream & sliced fresh peaches on the top but you can use just about anything for a topping. Next I'm going to try the amaretto & almond topping that I saw on another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I have made this several times but put it in a buttered pie plate to make a pie shell. Once it has cooled, I fill it with sliced peaches or strawberries that have been folded into whipped cream or cool whip and then chill. It really is a very refreshing and light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Good, but I thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I've been making this pie for years and my family expects at least two of these for Thanksgiving and Christmas dessert. My original recipe called for pecans or walnuts but I use chopped macadamia nuts and call it Macadamia Nut Pie. Its the easiest pie I've ever made and a nice contrast to all the heavy pumpkin and pecan pies during the holidays. My recipe is slightly different: 3 egg whites whipped stiff as if for meringue, slowly add 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla bean paste (or extract), then add 11 finely crushed soda cracker squares with 1 tsp baking powder, stir in 1 cup chopped macadamia nuts. Pour into ungreased 9" pie dish. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Maybe my version is for high altitude? This must be served with whipped cream or it will be dry. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States