Soda Cracker Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was really good. My mother used to make something very similar (tasted the same anyway) with fresh peaches (peeled, sliced, with a little sugar) between the crust and whipped topping. I'm definitely going to make this again when peaches are in season! I will say that I made one pie with fresh blueberries as the filling, and it was not very good. :) But the other pie (made as directed) was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I love this pie. In KC it was made in a pie crust at a family cafeteria or restaurant ...? Had just moved here and fell in love with it many years ago. I have always had a heavy hand when it comes to adding nuts to something and I think they should be small pieces. I also think the cracker needs to be medium size crumbs... so there's a lot of loft to the mixture. As I was just playing around trying to figure it out... I used no baking powder but I did use salt into the whites before beating them.... Watch the color for your time and served with unsweetened whipped cream { pinch of Meyers dark rum } and caramel sauce drizzle. Sissy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Our family has made this forever! Try this: after it has cooled, ice it with whipped cream and refrigerate it for 6 hours. The moisture from the cream will soften the torte. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My step-mother made this for my daughters when they were small and they now request it for every holiday or special occasion meal. We top the merangue (after cooling) with a good vanilla bean ice cream (softened) and more nuts on top. Freeze until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My Mother used to make this pie. I love it. Make it just like the recipe and it turns out fabulous! I entered this in a pie contest this summer and there were some very delicious-looking pies submitted. I was totally surprised, but delighted when they announced this as the first place winner. I felt guilty when I realized how easy it was compared to the effort others had spent. I have never tried anything but saltines, but now I am anxious to try some of the others. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I've been making this pie for years and my family expects at least two of these for Thanksgiving and Christmas dessert. My original recipe called for pecans or walnuts but I use chopped macadamia nuts and call it Macadamia Nut Pie. Its the easiest pie I've ever made and a nice contrast to all the heavy pumpkin and pecan pies during the holidays. My recipe is slightly different: 3 egg whites whipped stiff as if for meringue, slowly add 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla bean paste (or extract), then add 11 finely crushed soda cracker squares with 1 tsp baking powder, stir in 1 cup chopped macadamia nuts. Pour into ungreased 9" pie dish. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Maybe my version is for high altitude? This must be served with whipped cream or it will be dry. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I have made this several times but put it in a buttered pie plate to make a pie shell. Once it has cooled, I fill it with sliced peaches or strawberries that have been folded into whipped cream or cool whip and then chill. It really is a very refreshing and light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DLD
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I'm surprised I'm the only one to rate this anything less than stellar. I had high hopes for this recipe, that is until I took a bite. The one pro is it's very simple to prepare (and the only reason why I afforded it 3 stars instead of 2). It smelled wonderfully while cooking, but was far too plain to consume. It needs an oomph to it. It's very thin and unsubstantial. I would consider using this as a crust for some type of pie or custard, other than that, I won't be making this again. Better luck to anyone who makes this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe. However, even using fat free saltines, the pecans are just over 56 grams of fat so you end up with 10.9 grams of fat per serving. Just thought everyone might like to know that if you have to watch your fat grams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamalittle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Arkansas, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Absolutely wonderful, and so very easy! We loved this! I even cut back on the sugar on the second one and got away with it -- with rave reviews on top of that! I like to leave my crackers a bit chunky -- it seems to have more crunch that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States