Soda Cracker Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
EXCELLENT!! I have made this recipe 3 times already since Thanksgiving. I found that if I break the crackers apart once the chocolate has set, but is not TOTALLY hard, they break into nice cracker squares. Also, my family does not eat nuts, so I substituted 1/2-3/4 cup Toffee Bits (found by the chocolate chip packages) on top of the chocolate layer. The bars turned out wonderfully tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I have been making these for years. They are addictive at the very least! To those who don't like nuts, try using coarsly crushed pretzels. To those who complained about them being sticky - you need to boil the syrup longer. A shortcut here will yield a very chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These are really easy and delicious. I LIKE that they don't break up neatly bc they look more like "bark" that way. I added 1/2 cup more chocolate chips to make it very chocolatey. My only suggestion is to let the chocoloate chips sit for about 3-4 minutes before you try to spread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
loved this!! so did everyone else who tried it. i followed the recipe times exactly (3 minutes boiling and 5-6 mintues in the oven) and they worked perfectly. just watch that the edges don't burn. i did line my baking pan with parchment paper -- no greasing, no cleaning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Sorry, but I thought these were a big waste. Not fit to eat in my opinion, and I certainly would not give to anyone. They stick to your teeth and are messy to make. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are my go-to cookie for Christmas cookie parties. They are so fun and easy. Someone mentioned that the crackers were floating on top of the butter- that won't happen if you boil the butter and sugar long enough. It will have a sticky consistency at just about 3 minutes- stir constantly. Everything was by the book and they turned out great. I, too, crushed pretzels and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
The first time I made this, it was fabulous! The second time I guess I cooked the sugar too long and it was a mess. The third time I got it right again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I really wasn't sure how to rate these...they tasted great, but didn't look very appealing. I was planning to use these as holiday gifts. I am glad that I did a trial run ahead of time because they looked awful. But that being said...they tasted wonderful. We ate the whole batch rather quickly. I thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
OMG!! These are soooooo good!! Just make sure to heat the sugar/butter mixture to the right temperature (candy thermometer helps) or it will be grainy and not like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Be sure to use REGULAR butter when you make these- I have made these numerous times they always turn out great, but one time I decided to use low fat margarine- the caramel would not form it was a mess, you must use regular butter. You can also try a mix of peanut butter chips and chocolate chips for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States