Soda Cracker Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
OMG!! These are soooooo good!! Just make sure to heat the sugar/butter mixture to the right temperature (candy thermometer helps) or it will be grainy and not like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are my go-to cookie for Christmas cookie parties. They are so fun and easy. Someone mentioned that the crackers were floating on top of the butter- that won't happen if you boil the butter and sugar long enough. It will have a sticky consistency at just about 3 minutes- stir constantly. Everything was by the book and they turned out great. I, too, crushed pretzels and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Thanks for the recipe, these are wonderful and addictive! I've made them several times for gifts and always have to make a double batch for us. Instead of soda crackers, try using pretzel crackers (I think they're called Flipsides) - makes them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
my grandmother used to make these :) It was great to find an official recipe rather than grandma's 'guesstimates'. Crackers will shift when they are put in the oven, so fill the pan rather than keeping them in the middle. I also use parchment or non-stick foil to ease cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romulus, New York, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS RECIPE SINCE 1969- AND MY MOTHER BEFORE THAT.. AND IF YOU DO NOT HAVE CHOCOLATE CHIPS- DO THIS- MAKE A SIMPLE FROSTING OUT OF MILK, POWDERED SUGAR, AND REAL COCOA. MIX, AND POUR ON TOP- OR DRIZZLE- AND IF YOU HAVE A CAN OF INSTANT FROSTING? YOU CAN MICROWAVE THIS AND POUR ON TOP AS WELL- CARAMEL FROSTING WORKS ALSO AS WELL AS CHOCOLATE- OR WHITE CHOCOLATE- AND I LOVE TO GRIND THE WALNUTS [VERY FINE] AND TOP THE FROSTING WITH SLICED ALMONDS- THOSE GET THE BEST REVIEWS FROM PEOPLE WHEN EVER I MAKE THEM OR GIVE THESE TO PEOPLE- OR ON TOP OF THE DARK CHOCOLATE- PLACE A DOLLUP OF CREAM CHEESE FROSTING- AND TOP WITH HALF OF A CHERRY- IT ADDS CLASS AND A HOLIDAY TOUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Be sure to use REGULAR butter when you make these- I have made these numerous times they always turn out great, but one time I decided to use low fat margarine- the caramel would not form it was a mess, you must use regular butter. You can also try a mix of peanut butter chips and chocolate chips for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These are AWESOME! They taste exactly like toffee, but are soft 'n chewy. The butter/brown sugar falls to the bottom and forms a caramel layer which is exactly what I would expect given the cook time. The crackers provide a crunch and the chocolate and walnuts complete the package. If you are looking for a hard toffee, I would suggest looking at other soda cracker recipes on this site that have a longer cook time (a.k.a. Chocolate Brittle Surprise). The only change I made to this recipe was using milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet. I had it already melted, so I let the crackers cool for a few minutes and then poured it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
My daughter wanted to make something sweet and I didn't want to head to the store, so we thought she could try these. She had to be coaxed a bit because of the crackers, but I'd had something like this before and convinced her to try it. Then her brothers complained about the nuts, so she ended up leaving those out and using 1/2 butter and 1/2 peanut butter for the nutty taste. They were easy, quick and very good. She was so excited that they turned out well, as she rarely ever cooks anything. We gobbled them up quickly. If you like salty and sweet together (we do), you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
It was pretty good but would have been better if there wasn't so much of the butter/brown sugar mixture that the bottom was soggy. Next time I think I'll make about 1/2 of the mixture instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Very good! I make this alot and normally use walnuts but this time I used smokehouse almonds. Definitely better with the almonds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States