Soda Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I make this recipe with 1 cup butter, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 sleeve soda crackers and 2 cups Chocolate chips. At Christmas time, I like to use the red and green m&m's in place of the almonds (peanut are best, but I've used almond or even the mint ones to make it nut-free). One bag will do. Put the candy in a large Ziploc bag and smash them with a rolling pin. Very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My mom makes this every year over the holidays, and it's my absolute favorite candy/dessert. I've been eating it since I was old enough to chew, so I may be a bit biased here, but there's nothing quite like it. I even had it instead of a birthday cake one year! The one thing about this particular recipe - there's too much butter. My family generally uses about 1 cup. I would recommend putting nuts on half of your batch, as they make a great addition, but those who hate nuts still need to be appeased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I have made this a few times for our annual Christmas party. Every year people ask me how to make it and rave about how good it is! Sooo easy to make and looks divine with crumbled nuts on top. It's a perfect holiday gift when you break it up and put it in a nice little box with a ribbon! One thing to note: The chocolate chips do not melt from just sprinkling them on top....I had to sprinkle the chocolate chips on top and then place it back in the oven for 4-5 minutes to allow for the chocolate to melt to the point where I could spread it over the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very crispy and tasty. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Perfect sweet and salty combination! And with stuff I usually have on hand, which makes it seems free! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
had a major sweet tooth and this recipe caught my eye since i had all ingredients in the house. Except for the chocolate chips. Instead, I used some hot fudge sauce, melted until really thin, then swirled it over the top. After 30 minutes in the frig it was ready and so verry yummy. This made my permanent recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this just as written and I wish I would have read the reviews first. Way too much butter. I realized the crackers were going to be soggy so I kept them in the oven longer. It helped and they tasted pretty good but the moral here is...read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This is my new favorite treat! I followed other reviews & decreased the butter & brown sugar to 1 cup, but I think next time I'll use the full amount. You have to start timing after it comes to a full rolling boil, but be careful because it can quickly become too thick. I also sprayed the foil generously with Pam & didn't have a problem with it sticking. I had a little extra room after putting on the crackers, so I pulled up the edges of the foil to fit closely around the crackers. I mistakenly used only 1 bag of choc. chips, but it was more than enough. I may even decrease these next time, & add butterscotch chips. I also left out the nuts, didn't miss them. Once it cooled down I put it in the freezer for a while & it broke apart easily. This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Excellent and easy! One would never know there are crackers in it. I like this recipe because no advanced candy skills are necessary (and no candy thermometer!). I was out of Almonds (hubby must have found them) but they were fine without. Tasted like a Skor bar! MMmmmmmm! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Very good! I cut the butter and brown sugar to 1 cup. I believe my jelly roll pan holds roughly 36 crackers. Next time I will spray my foil generously as it was a bit difficult to remove the foil from some parts of the candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States