Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Too long cooking time...50 minutes is good. Cinnamon must be a typo...3 T is way to much even for a cinnamon lover. Other than that, it is a good recipe and will use it again with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
the cake was great once i change something. like 1 more stick of butter turn oven down to 325 if you have a gas stove. 2tsp of cin. and bake for 1hr 15-20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This cake was incredibly moist and delicious. In the past I've used other recipes and always felt the cake was too dry. I did make variations to the recipe. 1. I only added 2 TBSP of cinnamon, I added another 1/2tsp of mexican real vanilla (delish!), I also added a little butter in the cinnamon, sugar, nut layer. It helped bind and saturate the layer. The biggest thing is that I only baked the cake for 65 minutes in the oven. 90 would have RUINED it. So, I guess I should say that with the tips people gave and some of my own, it became the best Sock It To Me can I've ever EVER had. I would highly suggest the way I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Great recipe, just needs a little tweaking. Back oven temp down to 325, bake for 70(seventy) minutes, I like 1tbs cinnamon to 1 1/2tbs, and I added and extra 1/2tsp of vanilla. It came out awesome, very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all I wish that when posting these recipes the information given is correct. When baking time is off, and ingredients aren't to the letter making a quality product is next to impossible. I baked this cake as instructed, and the result was terrible. 90 minutes is way too long for this cake to bake, and I do not know if it was a mistake but 3 and I love cinnamon, tablespoons of cinnamon is a bit much. And not only that but after baking for an hour the crust was hard, and the cake was dry. I wasted 20 dollars on ingredients, and was less than pleased. If I try it again I'll deffinitely make modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great recipe! My cake turned out beautifully. The 90 minute baking time is WAY too long for this cake. Mine was completely baked in 45 minutes. I used cake flour instead of all purpose flour and I used 12 ounces of sour cream. I also drizzled a glaze of milk and confectioner's sugar on the slightly warm cake. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
A very good cake. I curious if there was a typo on the cinnamon. It was a bit much for my taste. Next time I will use 3 tsp. instead of the 3 tbsp that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darwin
Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
easy to make and tasty, will use as a coffee cake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best from-scratch cake I have ever made. We all loved the smooth, light texture and the cinnamon/sugar/nuts filling. I did reduce the cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. instead of 3, otherwise it would have been a bit too strong. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I love this recipe b/c it is made from scratch and it's amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States