Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Great recipe, just needs a little tweaking. Back oven temp down to 325, bake for 70(seventy) minutes, I like 1tbs cinnamon to 1 1/2tbs, and I added and extra 1/2tsp of vanilla. It came out awesome, very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all I wish that when posting these recipes the information given is correct. When baking time is off, and ingredients aren't to the letter making a quality product is next to impossible. I baked this cake as instructed, and the result was terrible. 90 minutes is way too long for this cake to bake, and I do not know if it was a mistake but 3 and I love cinnamon, tablespoons of cinnamon is a bit much. And not only that but after baking for an hour the crust was hard, and the cake was dry. I wasted 20 dollars on ingredients, and was less than pleased. If I try it again I'll deffinitely make modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great recipe! My cake turned out beautifully. The 90 minute baking time is WAY too long for this cake. Mine was completely baked in 45 minutes. I used cake flour instead of all purpose flour and I used 12 ounces of sour cream. I also drizzled a glaze of milk and confectioner's sugar on the slightly warm cake. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
A very good cake. I curious if there was a typo on the cinnamon. It was a bit much for my taste. Next time I will use 3 tsp. instead of the 3 tbsp that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darwin
Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
easy to make and tasty, will use as a coffee cake in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best from-scratch cake I have ever made. We all loved the smooth, light texture and the cinnamon/sugar/nuts filling. I did reduce the cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. instead of 3, otherwise it would have been a bit too strong. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I love this recipe b/c it is made from scratch and it's amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly except the baking time. I only baked 1 hour but the cake is still very dry. It has a good taste but it is just not a moist cake. If I bake the cake again, I will only bake for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimaneye67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is basically a sour cream pound cake with a strip of nuts and spice in the center. The flavor of the cake is very good, but it came out a bit dry. Although 90 minutes is a good rule of thumb for a traditional pound cake, the oven temp for this one is a bit higher, so a shorter baking time may yield a moister cake. It's definitely worth baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I was raised on the version of this cake that starts with a box of cake mix - I put this one over it in my cookbook! This cake was moist and had a great flavor. I only baked it for about 50 minutes to a clean toothpick. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States