Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Once this cake cooled, it is so DRY!! 90 minutes is way TOO long to bake this cake!!! The "flavor" of this recipe is good, so we'll try it again, but we'll check it for "doneness" at intervals after the first 35 to 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
After reading this recipe, I KNEW better than to use 3 tablespoons of cinnamon and baking it at 350 for 1hr & 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried it and it was delicious! Next time i will only cook it 75 min...it was almost burned cooking it for the 90 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
definately enjoyed making this cake although a bit to much cinnamon will only use 1tbsp instead of three add more nuts and decrease cooking time by 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdaas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I'm glad I read the reviews because it helped me change the process a bit. I reduced cinnamon to 1 tbsp. I substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the sour cream. Baking time was complete at 55 minutes. Definitely more like a pound cake instead of the box mix version which is more spongey. This was very good with our modifications, and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This cake was ok the texture was not what i expected a little rubbery. Maybe i baked it 2 long I baked it for 1 hour on 325 i also made a few changes with the cinnamon based on the reviews. Instead of vanilla extract i used 3/4 tbls rum extract a drop of vanilla extract & a drop of lemon extract. The cake flavor was great only if the texture was right this would have been a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This cake is a it too heavy. I suggest usingthe Baker's German Chocolate cakerecipe as a base and omit the chocolate. As previous reviewers mentioned, you should probably use three teaspoons of cinnamon and not tablespoons. With the left over nut mixture, sprinkle on the top layer of batter before placing pan in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Too long cooking time...50 minutes is good. Cinnamon must be a typo...3 T is way to much even for a cinnamon lover. Other than that, it is a good recipe and will use it again with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
the cake was great once i change something. like 1 more stick of butter turn oven down to 325 if you have a gas stove. 2tsp of cin. and bake for 1hr 15-20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This cake was incredibly moist and delicious. In the past I've used other recipes and always felt the cake was too dry. I did make variations to the recipe. 1. I only added 2 TBSP of cinnamon, I added another 1/2tsp of mexican real vanilla (delish!), I also added a little butter in the cinnamon, sugar, nut layer. It helped bind and saturate the layer. The biggest thing is that I only baked the cake for 65 minutes in the oven. 90 would have RUINED it. So, I guess I should say that with the tips people gave and some of my own, it became the best Sock It To Me can I've ever EVER had. I would highly suggest the way I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States