Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all I wish that when posting these recipes the information given is correct. When baking time is off, and ingredients aren't to the letter making a quality product is next to impossible. I baked this cake as instructed, and the result was terrible. 90 minutes is way too long for this cake to bake, and I do not know if it was a mistake but 3 and I love cinnamon, tablespoons of cinnamon is a bit much. And not only that but after baking for an hour the crust was hard, and the cake was dry. I wasted 20 dollars on ingredients, and was less than pleased. If I try it again I'll deffinitely make modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This is a perfect base recipe for Sock It To Me Cake! I prefer from scratch, and I get so many requests for this cake. I've altered this recipe somewhat to make it a little richer for my own personal tastes, but I highly recommend this! Thanks for contributing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is basically a sour cream pound cake with a strip of nuts and spice in the center. The flavor of the cake is very good, but it came out a bit dry. Although 90 minutes is a good rule of thumb for a traditional pound cake, the oven temp for this one is a bit higher, so a shorter baking time may yield a moister cake. It's definitely worth baking again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was the best from-scratch cake I have ever made. We all loved the smooth, light texture and the cinnamon/sugar/nuts filling. I did reduce the cinnamon to 1 Tbsp. instead of 3, otherwise it would have been a bit too strong. Other than that, this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
This cake was easy to bake and the taste was great! Everyone thinks I'm a good cook! (if only they really knew) Try it and see but most of all TASTE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This cake was incredibly moist and delicious. In the past I've used other recipes and always felt the cake was too dry. I did make variations to the recipe. 1. I only added 2 TBSP of cinnamon, I added another 1/2tsp of mexican real vanilla (delish!), I also added a little butter in the cinnamon, sugar, nut layer. It helped bind and saturate the layer. The biggest thing is that I only baked the cake for 65 minutes in the oven. 90 would have RUINED it. So, I guess I should say that with the tips people gave and some of my own, it became the best Sock It To Me can I've ever EVER had. I would highly suggest the way I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gentry, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
i made this cake and sock'd it to all of my in laws not only was it great, but i made it from scratch unlike their cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
A very good cake. I curious if there was a typo on the cinnamon. It was a bit much for my taste. Next time I will use 3 tsp. instead of the 3 tbsp that it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darwin
Home Town: Edna, Texas, USA
Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Island Girl
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Made this cake for a birthday girl at work, co-workers loved it. It is not too sweet. I did increase the nuts to 1 cup. The birthday girl was trying keep it from disappearing so that she could take it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was almost perfect. My bundt pan was dark and the crust seemed to come out thick. Other than that the cake was DELICIOUS! And I only had to cook it for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States