Sock it to Me Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I lowered the baking temperature to 325 degrees and checked for doneness at one hour. My cake was moist and Delicious! I immediately got requests to bake more cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Once this cake cooled, it is so DRY!! 90 minutes is way TOO long to bake this cake!!! The "flavor" of this recipe is good, so we'll try it again, but we'll check it for "doneness" at intervals after the first 35 to 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
After reading this recipe, I KNEW better than to use 3 tablespoons of cinnamon and baking it at 350 for 1hr & 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried it and it was delicious! Next time i will only cook it 75 min...it was almost burned cooking it for the 90 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
definately enjoyed making this cake although a bit to much cinnamon will only use 1tbsp instead of three add more nuts and decrease cooking time by 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msdaas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I'm glad I read the reviews because it helped me change the process a bit. I reduced cinnamon to 1 tbsp. I substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the sour cream. Baking time was complete at 55 minutes. Definitely more like a pound cake instead of the box mix version which is more spongey. This was very good with our modifications, and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This cake was ok the texture was not what i expected a little rubbery. Maybe i baked it 2 long I baked it for 1 hour on 325 i also made a few changes with the cinnamon based on the reviews. Instead of vanilla extract i used 3/4 tbls rum extract a drop of vanilla extract & a drop of lemon extract. The cake flavor was great only if the texture was right this would have been a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This cake is a it too heavy. I suggest usingthe Baker's German Chocolate cakerecipe as a base and omit the chocolate. As previous reviewers mentioned, you should probably use three teaspoons of cinnamon and not tablespoons. With the left over nut mixture, sprinkle on the top layer of batter before placing pan in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Too long cooking time...50 minutes is good. Cinnamon must be a typo...3 T is way to much even for a cinnamon lover. Other than that, it is a good recipe and will use it again with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
the cake was great once i change something. like 1 more stick of butter turn oven down to 325 if you have a gas stove. 2tsp of cin. and bake for 1hr 15-20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States