Sock It to Me Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I left out the 1/4 cup of sugar and didn't miss it. This was good but next time I will leave out the pecans and double the cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is the version of Sock it to Me Cake I've made a few times, but I use a yellow cake mix. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes and was perfect. I add a little vanilla to the glaze. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Great recipe. I made it twice and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was great & super moist-made a few variations based on other's reviews: baked @ 325 degrees for 50 minutes in a 9x13 pan. When blending the cake mix, I used 1/3 cup of butter instead of 1/2 vegetable oil & adding a tad more sour cream. Sprinkled the bottom of the pan with a little of the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture-layered half the cake, brown sugar/cinnamon mix(no nuts, because I didn't have any), rest of the cake mixture and sprinkled the remaining brown sugar/cinnamon mix on top. The glaze was not enough so I made a double batch. This is soooo moist and excellent with coffee! I will be making this again=thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena Nehls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Loved this recipe~!! I was looking for a recipe sim to my great grandmothers and this comes close! I do not use the nuts but still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I don't particularly like sock it to me cakes, but this was probably the best version of one I have had. Watch the time carefully! I baked a mini round cake and a 9x13. I took the mini out at the perfect time and it was wonderfully moist. I left the 9x13 in a little bit longer and it came out spongy. I noticed that the cake mix package called for butter, not oil, so I may try that on the next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I normally DO NOT comment/rate BUT I must say this cake is PERFECT!!!! HOWEVER... I recommend baking it at 325. I tried 375 and the outside was burned but the it was raw inside. I tried again at 350 and again a little burned outside but much better than the first attempt. My final attempt was at 325 and it was PERFECT!!!! THANK YOU for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
After my finance's aunt passed away, he continuously spoke on her sock it to me cake that she would make every thanksgiving and Christmas. I didn't have the slightest clue of what this cake looked or tasted like, but I wanted to cheer him up a little by making one. I tried this recipe and have been the designated sock it to me cake maker ever since. Him and the rest of my family loved it and he insist it's is better than his aunts. I highly recommended this recipe for first timers. Over time I made a couple of changes to fit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I didn't have a butter cake mix, but it still turned out wonderful! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very delicious, everyone raved over it. Will definitely make this part of my cookbook collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States