Sock It to Me Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very moist and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This cake had great texture and flavor....we all loved it. I didn't change a thing. I'll be making this for our schools Football Banquet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used all the other recommendations from the other reviews and this cake came out perfect! I made it for a family get together and now it is requested for every one. I added slightly more sour cream; little bit less baking time (40 min); more filling and more layers of that filling; swirl the filling with the batter at ea. layer; almond extract in cake and glaze; dust pan with cinnamon and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Not over the top fantastic but quite good. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. I make monthly! We eat it as a coffeecake for breakfast. For a yummy twist, add a little almond extract to both cake and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
I loooove sock it to me cakes, my mom made them all the time when I was growing up. I was excited to make this one from scratch although my mom was dubious. It looked beautiful and all the taste components were there, it just wasn't "right." It seemed very dry and heavy. I used a silicone bundt pan and it was close to overdone at 55 minutes. I am making another tomorrow for a baby shower and this time I am going to add slightly more sour cream, 3/4 cup of vegetable oil and one cup of pecans to make a wider band of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This cake is great for weekend company. I ommited the pecans. It was so good. My kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This cake is sooo good. I made it just as the recipe said,except I put two layers of the cinnamon mixture. It's moist,tasty,rich,and satisfying. It doesn't even need the iceing. But, I made some because my husband needed it.I have made this one many times in the past few months. One hint for a great cake is don't use an off brand cake mix. It makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This is very much like a coffee cake. I doubled the "streusel" mixture and layered it in 2 different layers. I thought that it might be too much cinnamon but it was fine. I used a coconut cake mix (its what I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Made this cake yesterday, and it is fabulous! Husband ate 2 huge servings! Only subs I made were toasted walnuts (heart healthy) instead of pecans and plain nonfat yogurt instead of fat and calorie laden sour cream. Cake was very moist, flavorful, and simply delicious! I will not feel guilty eating it with these healthy changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States