Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a nostalgic recipe in our family that has been one of my kids' favorites since they were very little--and now they're both pushing 30! I never used the nuts only because the kids didn't like them, and occasionally make this in a Bundt pan. The aroma as it's baking is wonderful, like a good comfort food should be. It is deliciously moist with a ribbon of cinnamon and not too sweet, especially since there is only a powdered sugar glaze and not a heavy frosting. Even now when my kids come, I still make this cake---just for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Brisa Wiemiller
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I love, love, love this recipe. I can't stop eating it. I made this cake in an oven-safe plastic round cake pan. I was worried halfway through baking that it would cook too quickly on the outside, and be runny on the inside. I lowered the oven temp to 350, and baked it an extra 10 min. I also used 1/2 c. of sour cream and more cinnamon. But I know it still would have been perfect had I followed the recipe exactly. I left off the icing and it was so moist and GOOD! I also swirled the batter with a butter knife after I layered the streusle filling in the middle. I read the reviews about too much cinnamon right in the middle. I liked that change the best. It gave it an eveness. Excellent, thank you, will make it again ASAP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn M.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
DELICIOUS!!!!!!! It never last more than a day at home, it is very YUUUUUMMMMYYYY!! Thanks for such great recipe, I am including a picture of it Thanks again Becky!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ensenada, Guanica, Puerto Rico
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I used a yellow cake mix and applesauce for the oil. It turned out really good. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe tastes good but a little dry for me. I just increased the oil to 1/2 cup and omitted the water and increased the milk to 1/2 cup. Great! Thanks for a great old favorite. I will used it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My husband and I agreed that this cake was dry and the flavor was a little on the bland side. I normally enjoy sock it to me cake but this is just not the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made this as muffins. I followed the basic recipe omitting the 1/4c added sugar in the cake batter (as if the mix doesn't contain enought sugar). I placed about a tablespoon of batter in the bottom of the paper-lined muffing pan, topped it with 2 tsp of the following streusel: 2/3c flour, 1c brown sugar 1 tbsp ground cinnamon and mixed it with 6 tbsp of melted butter. Added more batter and then another layer of streusel. I baked it for about 20-25 minutes and then when cool, drizzled it with powdered sugar icing. Excellent 'coffeecake' muffin! Moist and cinnamony. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Excellent cake...My wife doesn't like cinnamon and never has, but she ate two pieces of this when I baked it. Looking forward to the next one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Delish!! Everyone was very impressed. I baked this in a 9 x 13 pan and swirled the mixture into the batter. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This cake was really good. It was a little to dry for me. I think increasing the amount of oil to 1/2 cup instead of 1/3 may make up the difference. Like some others have suggested, I will swirl the cinnamon mixture into the cake instead of leaving it one layer. It tastes so good inside the cake (not overpowering at all, like I thought) that I wanted it in every bite and not just the center. But my family loved it! Even the cake master herself (my grandmother) commented that the cake was delicious! I think I "socked-it-to-them" with this one! Happy baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ednichol

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States