Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Overall, this was a good cake. I followed the recipe to the letter, but it still came out a little dry for me. I will definitely try again but with a few adjustments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great cake! Made it last night, and was a little suprised how dark the outer layer turned but I was pleasantly surprised with a moist and fluffy piece. I did omit the glaze. I think it is even better this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Nothing special about this one. I will delete this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I LOVED THIS CAKE IT WAS SO SO GOOD I MADE IT FOR A NEW YEARS PARTY AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. AND IT LOOKED AMAZING I PUT IT ON 375 BUT I NOTICED AFTER 20 MINUTES THAT IT LOOKED LIKE IT WAS COOKING TO FAST SO I TURNED IT DOWN TO 350 AND COOKED IT A COUPLE MINUTES LONGER IT WAS SO GOOD I WILL BE MAKING IT AGAIN SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have to say this cake was outstanding my wife hates cinnamon but she loved this cake I can't really say it's the best I ever had because I only got to eat one piece the rest she hid it from me and ate it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Delicious! I omitted the nuts and I added a little extra cinnamon to the cake mix. I also dusted the pan with a cinnamon/ sugar mixture first. (I got that idea from the recipe for Banana Sour CreamBread found on this site.) I also doubled the cinnamon/brown sugar mix for the middle. This will be a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoffeeHeaven
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I love, love, love this recipe. I can't stop eating it. I made this cake in an oven-safe plastic round cake pan. I was worried halfway through baking that it would cook too quickly on the outside, and be runny on the inside. I lowered the oven temp to 350, and baked it an extra 10 min. I also used 1/2 c. of sour cream and more cinnamon. But I know it still would have been perfect had I followed the recipe exactly. I left off the icing and it was so moist and GOOD! I also swirled the batter with a butter knife after I layered the streusle filling in the middle. I read the reviews about too much cinnamon right in the middle. I liked that change the best. It gave it an eveness. Excellent, thank you, will make it again ASAP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeHeaven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Great cake. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Awesome moist delicious cake! Only thing better is MORE of it!! This cake didn't even last a day at my house..made another one and took it to work and it was gone in less than an hour and one guy even asked me to make him one and he would buy it!! LOL I have one in the oven now I am making for my dad..he loves my coffee cake..I know he is gonna love this cake even better!!! Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNM6467

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Panasoffkee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Very good cake, I would describe it as a coffee cake because by itself, alittle plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States