Sock it to Me Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had a craving for cake tonight, and this filled it! It was so good! I used yellow cake mix because that's all I had, and omitted the pecans (didn't have any). Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfectly! I did have to take it out at 40 minutes instead of 45, but that may just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is a nostalgic recipe in our family that has been one of my kids' favorites since they were very little--and now they're both pushing 30! I never used the nuts only because the kids didn't like them, and occasionally make this in a Bundt pan. The aroma as it's baking is wonderful, like a good comfort food should be. It is deliciously moist with a ribbon of cinnamon and not too sweet, especially since there is only a powdered sugar glaze and not a heavy frosting. Even now when my kids come, I still make this cake---just for the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Overall, this was a good cake. I followed the recipe to the letter, but it still came out a little dry for me. I will definitely try again but with a few adjustments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great cake! Made it last night, and was a little suprised how dark the outer layer turned but I was pleasantly surprised with a moist and fluffy piece. I did omit the glaze. I think it is even better this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Nothing special about this one. I will delete this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I LOVED THIS CAKE IT WAS SO SO GOOD I MADE IT FOR A NEW YEARS PARTY AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. AND IT LOOKED AMAZING I PUT IT ON 375 BUT I NOTICED AFTER 20 MINUTES THAT IT LOOKED LIKE IT WAS COOKING TO FAST SO I TURNED IT DOWN TO 350 AND COOKED IT A COUPLE MINUTES LONGER IT WAS SO GOOD I WILL BE MAKING IT AGAIN SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have to say this cake was outstanding my wife hates cinnamon but she loved this cake I can't really say it's the best I ever had because I only got to eat one piece the rest she hid it from me and ate it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Delicious! I omitted the nuts and I added a little extra cinnamon to the cake mix. I also dusted the pan with a cinnamon/ sugar mixture first. (I got that idea from the recipe for Banana Sour CreamBread found on this site.) I also doubled the cinnamon/brown sugar mix for the middle. This will be a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I love, love, love this recipe. I can't stop eating it. I made this cake in an oven-safe plastic round cake pan. I was worried halfway through baking that it would cook too quickly on the outside, and be runny on the inside. I lowered the oven temp to 350, and baked it an extra 10 min. I also used 1/2 c. of sour cream and more cinnamon. But I know it still would have been perfect had I followed the recipe exactly. I left off the icing and it was so moist and GOOD! I also swirled the batter with a butter knife after I layered the streusle filling in the middle. I read the reviews about too much cinnamon right in the middle. I liked that change the best. It gave it an eveness. Excellent, thank you, will make it again ASAP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brisa Wiemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States