Sock it to Me Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
Wonderfully MOIST, buttery, sweet....What more could you want in a cake? My husband and I loved it, fighting over the last piece! This is a great cake and I recommend it to anyone who loves cinnamon or brown sugar. I am making it for Thanksgiving for my whole family! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This cake was very moist and delicious. It was a big hit at a family gathering. The only problem I had was with the icing. It soaked into the cake and before pouring the rest of it the butter started to separate from the other ingredients. Too much butter maybe? I would make this cake again but either make changes to the icing recipe or use another all together. By the way I baked the cake in a bundt pan. I thought that made a prettier presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Very Good. I only used 8 oz. of sour cream, but it tastes just fine. Very moist. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
SO good that my co-workers were fighting over the last pieces! GREAT cake and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
very good I served it at a church luncheon and got plenty compliments on it. I thing the icing made it a little to moist and the butter separated from the other ingredients. I will definately make it again but I will make a few changes to the icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I made this cake for one of my desserts for Thanksgiving. It was delicious! It was moist and had great flavor. However, after reading the previous reviews, I decided not to use the hot icing from the recipe. Instead I mixed confectioners sugar, milk and a bit of vanilla to make a simple topping for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Excellent cake!! Fixed it for a party and everyone loved it - I wouldn't change a thing, and I think that it would be good as a brunch item as well. No problems with the icing and the buttery taste adds to the cake - a very RICH and heavy cake - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Great! Used a bundt pan- looked amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
A "sock-it-to-me" cake was requested by a co-worker as a special treat. Having never heard of it before. I asked him what the ingredients were. This recipe came the closest to what he described. However, I made a couple of adjustments. I left out the nuts, added lemon zest to the cake mix, and used a buttermilk powder reconstituted with lemon juice instead of water in the icing. My co-worker said this was the BEST sock-it-to-me cake he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I tried the recipe again. This time I eliminated all the sugar in the batter. The sweetness in the cake mix alone was more than sufficient. I'm giving 5 stars for taste, texture and presentation. If possible, do not slice until completely cooled down and left to rest, maybe even a day or overnight. The difference is incredible! I also would cut the brown sugar in the streusel down to 1/2 cup instead of the 3/4 cup for those, like myself, who must watch their sugar intake. Less glaze can also be used. Other than that, it's a wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States