Sock it to Me Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
When it comes to the icing or glaze keep it simple just to equal parts of milk and powdered sugar. I use this glaze on this cake every time and haven't had a complaint yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is one of the best tasting cake recipes I've had in a long time. I used lemon cake mix just to add some flair, along with vanilla icing with a tsp. of almond flavoring...The girls really loved it, Definately I will be making this recipe again soon. creator of beautiful ideas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
followed instructions to the "T" on the cake and it came out perfectly! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made note of the other reviews and decided to only add 1/3 cup sugar but was still way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 star because the flavor and texture was superb!!! The only down fall I had was the cake needed more time in the oven. I cook the cake for 50min, but next time I will add 5-10 more minutes to the cooking time. Overall the cake was great, especially with homemade cream cheese icing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very good, very rich. Excelllant fo special occasions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Prepared for Xmas brunch and was a big hit. I prepared as listed but think in the future will reduce the oil.Cake was moist and favorful according to family members( I don't know didn't get a chance to sample it myself). Always an excellent sign when the cake disappears like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I was nervous about making this recipe, but, it was delicious- supermoist. The only thing I changed was the glaze: I used 1c. powdered sugar with 4tbsp whole milk. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this cake for our family's Christmas yesterday. Oh my goodness! It was such a huge hit!!! Super moist, delicious, great flavors that get even better if you let them rest overnight. I must admit I have never been a great fan of Sock it to Me Cake, but this one has changed my opinion. There wasn't any cake left!! Now my husband wants me to make him one because yesterday's cake was gone before he was able to get some. Thanks Beryl Hubbard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Do not bake 50 minutes, I did 40 and this was more than enough. I only added 1/4 cup of sugar to the cake mix and I felt this was plenty. The cake had a nice flavor but was dry. I opted to skip the icing recipe because I could not bring myself to add a stick of butter to an already 'fatty' cake. Instead I used 1 cup of confectionary mixed with 2T of milk and a touch of vanilla. I'm sure the recipe would be less dry with the listed icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States