Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
A mere sprinkle of sesame seeds rather than 2 T. is appropriate in my mind, but to each his own I guess, even tho' the amount directed seems just a tad exorbitant - and the reason why I rate this four stars rather than five. I don't care for raw broccoli, so I dumped it, along with some fresh sliced mushrooms and chunks of red bell pepper, into the pan of soba noodles during the last couple minutes of cooking time. The sauce was excellent, tho' I couldn't help adding a little butter to the dish at the end. Maybe not traditional, but I dug it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Andrew Oliver
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I did as others recommended and cooked sesame seeds in a dry pan stove top and brown sugar instead of white. I also hate raw broccoli so I stir fried it with added carrots in toasted sesame oil. As usual I doubled the garlic. Otherwise I followed instructions and this was delicious! BTW keep the 1/2 cup of sesame seeds...yum! Word of warning...if you overheat the pan or in my case iron skillet...sesame seeds pop like popcorn...no joke! That means the heat is too high go medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
The soba noodles were great, but it needs a bit more sauce (a bit dry as leftovers 1-2 days later) and some other vegetables (julienned carrots or snowpeas). The broccoli florets should be cut small because they don't soften and could be contributing to the dryness. This makes more than 4 servings - at least 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Amazing! I spent a year in Japan and was eager to try making my own soba noodles when I got back. I left out the broccoli (as it would be on the side in a traditional Japanese dish). Both my husband and my Japanese friend loved it and had only good things to say. Definitely going to make again and share the recipe with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this for my family and they loved it. I would suggest adding less sesame seeds and less green onions because after we ate the noodles there was a lot of leftover sesame seeds. I also suggest adding double or even triple the amount of soy sauce and vinegar. Other than that this was a great recipe and I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
this is a perfect side dish with sesame pork....a favorite at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Tasty. Your basic Asian type sauce. Soba noodles are so good for you so I make this and my kids eat it too. FYI, you can buy roasted sesame seeds at an Asian food market. I used brown sugar with mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
i was too lazy to go to the store to by Soba, so use Udon noodles instead. Added Carrots, snow peas, red pepper and it was absolutely lovely as a vegetarian meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I didn't think it had much flavor. I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Substituted balsamic with rice wine vinegar and added fresh ginger. Doubled the amount of sugar. Used frozen stir-fry mix instead of broccoli and added frozen edename for protein. Stir fried the veggies in sesame oil and garlic before adding the soba and sauce. Served it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States