Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This would be a solid four or maybe even a five, if not for a few key ingredient oversights. 1. Balsamic vinegar? In a Japanese dish? Seriously. Only use rice vinegar. 2. Not nearly as bad as 1; use brown sugar instead of white, the flavor is richer and compliments the soy sauce ten times better. 3. 1/2 cup of sesame seeds is a ridiculous amount. I used more noodles than recommended and still only needed 1/4 of the sesame seeds. Use about 2 tablespoons. And don't bother baking them. Throw them in a dry pan and toast them over the stove for a few minutes on medium heat, shaking the pan ever few minutes until they are golden. Other than that, a good recipe. Easy to make, easy to improvise and adjust to personal tastes by simply varying the veggies. And with some minor adjustments, quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Delicious!! My teen just made me promise I will make this once every week. I stir-fried snow-peas, julienned carrots and sliced mushrooms in 1 tsp oil and added to the soba. And served it topped with grilled prawns on skewers! Exotic combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I LOVE this, reminds me of a salad we had in the Deli I worked at. I used blanched julienned carrots and bell peppers and sugar snap peas, and omitted the broccoli. I toasted the sesame seeds on a low flame in a fry pan. I also doubled it for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Could have been a 5 stars with a few changes: 1. Use rice vinegar 2. Double the sauce 3. Start with 2 TBsp sesame seeds and see if you want to add more. 1/2 cup is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Best noodle dish I've ever had:) Add one grilled chicken breast strips and red/yellow pepper strips (nuked in microwave for 1 min) and mix it with the noodle and sit overnight in the fridge. Reheat in microwave for about 1 min for luke warm and serve! YUMMY and healthy!! Ty for the wonderful recipe. BTW, you can stir fry sesame seeds in a dry heated wok for about 1-2 minutes with constant stirring instead of using oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I found this delicious and would definitly recommend it. However, I served it hot and would suggest adding some fried shallots. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Sorry, but I really didn't like this. The sauce smelled good while I was making it, but as soon as I mixed in the noodles, all I could smell was the vinegar. I decided to try it anyway, and let it sit for 30 minutes as the recipe suggests, but it still tasted vinegar-y, and I thought there were far too many sesame seeds. Maybe I did something wrong? Thanks for the post anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was very good. I added extra noodles, when 8 ounces looked like a very meager amount. I also added chicken and thinly sliced cucumbers. It was similar to noodle bowls we ate when we were living in Australia. I might opt to add some sliced cabbage in place of the broccoli (which I did steam lightly) next time. Definitely one to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2000
Very good, tasty recipe although we did alter it a little. We used balsamic vinegar instead of Chinese vinegar and we doubled the "sauce" ingredients since my husband likes sauce with everything. Also, we didn't wait for it to get to room temperature although I am sure it is good at room temperature also. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is a great easy recipe. I subbed rice vinegar for the balsamic and added honey because I didn't have white sugar. I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States