Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I decided to blanch the broccoli first based on some reviewer's comments, but I think it would have been much better raw. You need the sharper flavor and crunch of raw broccoli to balance this salad. The dressing is absolutely delicious and would also make a good marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I would have given this 3 stars, but my 7 year old daughter RAVED. This definitely needs to sit for an hour or so at room temp to let the flavors meld. It's missing a layer of flavor like some others suggested. I added a grated carrot and julienne cucumber at the end. I think next time I'll make the peanut sauce from the Satay Chicken from this site, leave it a little thin, then add about a half-cup to the sauce. It's still pretty good cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Made with whole wheat spaghetti....maybe not as spectacular because of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was good. I left out the veggies and just made the noodles and it was awesome. A family favorite that I know I will be making again and again. Served with Melt in your Mouth Porkchops (on this site) and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very tasty. Sauteed sliced mushrooms, halved baby carrots, and thinly sliced green cabbage in place of broccoli and used rice vinegar in place of balsamic. The only soba noodles I could find were buckwheat-yam; used parsley to perk up the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe turned out very good. I added some stir fried chicken pieces to add a little protein and make it more of a main course. Had it as part of a NYE dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe was awesome!!! I whipped up some teriyaki chicken to add to it and my whole family enjoyed this Asian cuisine! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was really great. I doubled the sauce and added carrots to the broccoli. I also sauteed the vegetables briefly and served the dish hot. I also used Udon vs Soba noodles because that's what I had on hand. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a very quick and easy way to prepre soba. I used Chinese black vinegar, and otherwise followed the recipe. Next time I will make more sauce, and lightly steam the broccoli. Also, I will try with peas and mushrooms. I am very interested in trying cold leftovers tomorrow. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Almost like from the bento of my favorite Japanese place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States