Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made some poor choices when preparing this recipe that hurt the taste. However, I'm giving it five stars because every part of the dish that was true to the recipe tasted great. My worst decision was to substitute frozen asian veggies for the broccoli and green onions. They just weren't good quality. I also tried to use black sesame seeds because those were what I had on hand, but I couldn't tell when they were toasted properly and I burned the first batch. Rather than risking burning the rest of my sesame seeds, I just added them without toasting. That probably affected the flavor. Anyway, I'm not going to penalize my rating of this recipe for my poor choices. I think it would have been very good if I had followed the recipe more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I found the sauce flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I had a 12 oz pkg of soba so ended up triple on the sauce. Used half balsamic, half rice vinegar. Added carrots, mushrooms and zucchini along with the broccoli, each lightly steamed and/or stir fried before tossing. I didn't have near 1/2 cup of sesame seeds but thought I'd be OK, probably won't use 1/2 cup next time but will use a lot more than the appx 2T that I had, the toasted seeds really make everything else better. Made for a great meatless meal. The kiddos loved this and were so happy to take the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipes was a good basis for an easy meal but did need some tweaking. It was really good hot but my family didn't like it cold. I steamed the broccoli and would add way more broccoli and some julienne carrots next time. I agree with the posters who said it could use some heat and it would be good with rice vinegar instead of balsamic. Fish sauce might also be a worthwhile addition. I tripled the sauce and marinated sliced chicken in the extra sauce. I cooked the chicken in the marinade with a couple of spoons full of peanut butter added for a satay style flavor. The peanut butter added an excellent layer of flavor to this sauce and the chicken was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I rolled tofu in the sesame seeds then pan fried with a little oil and added to this dish, SOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Pretty good, but too much vinegar. I would use less next time. For veggies I used red, yellow, and green peppers along with some carrot and the green onion. I sauteed them for just a few minutes to soften them, but not too long as to keep a crunch. I may try again, but with less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Excellent starter recipe. It was definitely a little bland for our tastes, so I added a bit of oyster sauce, ginger and wasabi powder. For the veggies I used raw spinach and deseeded sliced cucumber which gave it a nice crunch. Also stirred in a can of dark tuna (Korean brand from Asian store). Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very good recipe to start with, just made a few tweaks (personal preference) to the sauce. I'd also advise, it does NOT take 10-12 minutes to toast sesame seeds at that oven temperature - maybe half that time. But this was a good, easy recipe that I'll definitely keep making and modifying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I just made this tonight after a long day of work. I didn't have soba noodles so I used spagetti instead. I also use water chestnuts instead of brocolli and also added some cooked onions. It was very good especially with a splash of hot sauce and a dash of ginger powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Quite nice. A good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States