Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
It didn't have the depth of flavor I was expecting from the sauce. Also - the sauce didn't really stick to the noodles, it went to the bottom of my bowl so that all I had were room-temp noodles and broccoli. I may try this again by heating the sauce on the stove top with some ginger and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this based on the beautiful photo, but mine did not look like this! I should've gone with my gut instinct, this had way too many noodles. I should've used half the amount. I'll try it again using less noodles, and I'm sure it'll be better. I added tofu, but next time I'll add chopped carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Simple and tasty. I would make again. Instead of balsamic, I used 1 tbsp of white wine and 1 tbsp of rice vinegar. I also added a little grated ginger and chili paste. I toasted the sesame in a dry skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Could have been a 5 stars with a few changes: 1. Use rice vinegar 2. Double the sauce 3. Start with 2 TBsp sesame seeds and see if you want to add more. 1/2 cup is way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I could not find soba noodles in my local grocery store and didn't have gas to travel to another speciality store. I used regular spaghetti noodles. To make it more....asian, I used rice vinegar. I also used low-salt soy sauce and I increased the garlic to 8 cloves. I threw in a handful of cilantro and about a tsp. of ginger at the end. I'm really glad I eyeballed the sauce ingredients as I think that the amount called for just wouldn't have been enough. What I normally do with this kind of dish is make it in the morning and let it sit during the day to soak up that great sauce. My husband taste tested it halfway through and offered to go back and taste test it several more times.....so I would say that so far, it's a hit. I'm serving this with Cinnamon Pork Tenderloin (we'll....pork chops, not tenderloin).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Good recipe but next time I'll double the liquid ingredients for the sauce. I thought the pasta was a little dry and needed more. The toasted sesame seeds were delicious - I did mine in the toaster oven for about 5 mins. Very easy, but keep an eye on them. Wish I had an egg roll with this dinner - next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
My 3 year old LOVED this and asked to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dannemora, New York, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I'm sure I probably would have liked this minus the sugar and cutting back on the basalmic. Really, thats all I tasted was basalmic and sugar. This didn't go over well in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This would be a solid four or maybe even a five, if not for a few key ingredient oversights. 1. Balsamic vinegar? In a Japanese dish? Seriously. Only use rice vinegar. 2. Not nearly as bad as 1; use brown sugar instead of white, the flavor is richer and compliments the soy sauce ten times better. 3. 1/2 cup of sesame seeds is a ridiculous amount. I used more noodles than recommended and still only needed 1/4 of the sesame seeds. Use about 2 tablespoons. And don't bother baking them. Throw them in a dry pan and toast them over the stove for a few minutes on medium heat, shaking the pan ever few minutes until they are golden. Other than that, a good recipe. Easy to make, easy to improvise and adjust to personal tastes by simply varying the veggies. And with some minor adjustments, quite yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
next time i will not use as much soy, but everyone loved it, including my 4 and 6 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States