Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Not exactley the same as you get in an Asian restaurant but still very good. I sub'd the broccoli out with a mixture of blanched slivered carrots, bok choy, water chestnuts and peas (the vegetable part is forgiving, use what you like). I also used rice vinegar in place of balsamic (balsamic is however very similar to Asian black vinegar so you shouldn't not use it because you think you have to use rice vinegar). 1/2 c. sesame seeds I thought was too much, 1/4 c. was plenty and they toasted in very little time. I enjoyed this most after it was chilled and rested for 8+ hours. I know I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Great with these adjustments: 2 T sesame seeds (1/2 cup is WAY too many), half the amount of noodles, rice vinegar instead of balsamic, brown sugar instead of white. Also added finely diced purple cabbage which made it beautiful and added texture. I quickly sauteed some shrimp in garlic and butter and threw that in as well. We ate it warm (didn't want to wait for everything to cool!) and even my children liked it. Would make great leftovers eaten cold....but we didn't have anything leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
In addition to the other reader's suggestions of cutting down on the sesame seeds and using rice vinegar, I used Coconut Aminos instead of soy sauce (soy allergies - u can buy it at Whole Foods or most health food stores), Coconut Syrup (low glycemic index, and neither of these coco products taste like coconut) instead of sugar, and I stir fried my veggies and noodles in this mixture (broccolini and kale), then added the sesame oil to my bowl when it was finished. Pretty yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love this recipe!! I have to add a little meat for the husband, so I just bake chicken breast and cut into cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amber
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I did as other suggested, using rice wine vinegar and brown sugar. I doubled the sauce, used 12oz noodles and stir fried together with shitake mushrooms and red peppers. It was a big hit and made for great left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I really liked this recipe. Very easy and tasty. Used a baked tofu recipe as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Yum! We loved this. I used rice wine instead of balsamic, brown sugar instead of white and asparagus and red bell pepper in place of broccoli. So delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Parkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I used half of the sugar (next time I will substitute maple syrup to make it 0 on glycemic index), doubled the noodle amount and tripled the sauce amount, then stir-fried it at the end. (Cook the soba noodles for only 3 minutes if you cook it this way and make sure to separate the soba noodles before placing them in the boiling water otherwise they stick together.) IT WAS FANTASTIC! I also added chili flakes and chicken and will add bell pepper next time. DELICIOUS! Hot, cold or room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I made this without the sesame seeds and found it much too sour... not sure if it has to do with the balsamic vinegar I used or that Soba is supposed to be very sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
we didn't have onions so not sure how the full recipe tastes. however, sans onions, it was still delish. i made the given sauce amt with 6 oz of noods and the ratio seemed just right. sauce got absorbed in 15 minutes! instead of broccoli, i sauteed snow pea leaves in sesame oil and braggs amino acids (which i also used instead of soy for the noodle sauce). keep in mind: raw garlic is delicious but no joke. if you will be smooching, make sure it's not a first date food. ;) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States