Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I followed the suggestion from other reviewers of doubling the sauce, fewer sesame seeds, and adding some other veggies (mushrooms and peppers). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Cook your sesame seeds in a dry skillet where you can watch and stir them. Much more control. This recipe only needs about 1/4 cup of seeds. I found the whole recipe way too bland and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Way too many sesame seeds! Other than that, it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
like the dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Use rice vinegar instead of balsamic, brown sugar instead of white. Use 2 tbs of sesame seeds instead. blanch veggies for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We made some substitutions as others have recommended (brown sugar instead of white, and rice vinegar instead of balsamic), and we added blanched snow peas, red pepper, and green beans. With these additions, I thought this made a really nice accompaniment to our main dish (orange ginger tofu from this site). We did not, however, save the leftovers since neither my husband or I thought this would be good on it's own the next day. It was also a bit pricey - the sesame seeds alone (which we cut back on per others' suggestions) were over $7. Considering that, and the fact that the children wouldn't touch it, we will not likely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very good versatile recipe. I doubled the sauce ingredients, using seasoned rice vinegar, 1/2 brown sugar, and about 3 Tablespoons sesame seeds. Whole wheat linguine was the pasta I had available and that worked very well. I stir fried half a small onion, and for veggies I used a frozen stir-fry mix, which I cooked lightly, since I was out of broccoli. I might try marinating some tofu in the dressing first. next time I try it. Thanks for a tasty recipe, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great simple dish! Paired with veggie egg rolls, this dish was well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Not exactley the same as you get in an Asian restaurant but still very good. I sub'd the broccoli out with a mixture of blanched slivered carrots, bok choy, water chestnuts and peas (the vegetable part is forgiving, use what you like). I also used rice vinegar in place of balsamic (balsamic is however very similar to Asian black vinegar so you shouldn't not use it because you think you have to use rice vinegar). 1/2 c. sesame seeds I thought was too much, 1/4 c. was plenty and they toasted in very little time. I enjoyed this most after it was chilled and rested for 8+ hours. I know I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Great with these adjustments: 2 T sesame seeds (1/2 cup is WAY too many), half the amount of noodles, rice vinegar instead of balsamic, brown sugar instead of white. Also added finely diced purple cabbage which made it beautiful and added texture. I quickly sauteed some shrimp in garlic and butter and threw that in as well. We ate it warm (didn't want to wait for everything to cool!) and even my children liked it. Would make great leftovers eaten cold....but we didn't have anything leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States