Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I didn't think it had much flavor. I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Substituted balsamic with rice wine vinegar and added fresh ginger. Doubled the amount of sugar. Used frozen stir-fry mix instead of broccoli and added frozen edename for protein. Stir fried the veggies in sesame oil and garlic before adding the soba and sauce. Served it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geppetto DeVitis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I followed the suggestion from other reviewers of doubling the sauce, fewer sesame seeds, and adding some other veggies (mushrooms and peppers). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Cook your sesame seeds in a dry skillet where you can watch and stir them. Much more control. This recipe only needs about 1/4 cup of seeds. I found the whole recipe way too bland and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Way too many sesame seeds! Other than that, it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
like the dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Use rice vinegar instead of balsamic, brown sugar instead of white. Use 2 tbs of sesame seeds instead. blanch veggies for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
We made some substitutions as others have recommended (brown sugar instead of white, and rice vinegar instead of balsamic), and we added blanched snow peas, red pepper, and green beans. With these additions, I thought this made a really nice accompaniment to our main dish (orange ginger tofu from this site). We did not, however, save the leftovers since neither my husband or I thought this would be good on it's own the next day. It was also a bit pricey - the sesame seeds alone (which we cut back on per others' suggestions) were over $7. Considering that, and the fact that the children wouldn't touch it, we will not likely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Very good versatile recipe. I doubled the sauce ingredients, using seasoned rice vinegar, 1/2 brown sugar, and about 3 Tablespoons sesame seeds. Whole wheat linguine was the pasta I had available and that worked very well. I stir fried half a small onion, and for veggies I used a frozen stir-fry mix, which I cooked lightly, since I was out of broccoli. I might try marinating some tofu in the dressing first. next time I try it. Thanks for a tasty recipe, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great simple dish! Paired with veggie egg rolls, this dish was well received by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States