Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Very tasty. Only changes I made were to reduce the amount of sesame seeds a bit (to save calories) and to cook the broccoli a bit. I think next time I'll add some shredded carrots to this. Very yummy. I served this with some chinese chicken and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly except I left out the sugar. The combination makes for a strange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Very easy and delicious! I live in Japan and haven't found a soba recipe I like--until now. This is great for lunches and I am very glad I found it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Delicious!! My teen just made me promise I will make this once every week. I stir-fried snow-peas, julienned carrots and sliced mushrooms in 1 tsp oil and added to the soba. And served it topped with grilled prawns on skewers! Exotic combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
If you want to eat a healthy dish, you've got one here! The dressing is very good; subtly sweet and nice addition of sesame and sesame oil. I also added cooked and cubed chicken and chopped mango. This turned out to be a healthy yet hearty meal itself. I became a fan of soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really good, leftovers were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Leckie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Went to the Japanese grocery and got all of the ingredients, Followed the recipe to the "t" and won't make it again. The sweetness of the vinegar and sugar completely defeated the smokey savory flavors of the soy and sesame. This hodge podge of flavors lacked subtlety, turned my stomach and left us looking for something else to eat to make up for a terrible dinner. My thoughts: Omit or reduce white sugar. Substitute Tamari (a darker stronger soy sauce) for regular soy. And for goodness sake... ORDER OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I served this to my husband and a house guest, and I thought I'd have enough for left overs... wrong, they ate every last drop. What more could you ask for - inexpensive, quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I LOVE this, reminds me of a salad we had in the Deli I worked at. I used blanched julienned carrots and bell peppers and sugar snap peas, and omitted the broccoli. I toasted the sesame seeds on a low flame in a fry pan. I also doubled it for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I found this delicious and would definitly recommend it. However, I served it hot and would suggest adding some fried shallots. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States