Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly except I left out the sugar. The combination makes for a strange taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Very easy and delicious! I live in Japan and haven't found a soba recipe I like--until now. This is great for lunches and I am very glad I found it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Delicious!! My teen just made me promise I will make this once every week. I stir-fried snow-peas, julienned carrots and sliced mushrooms in 1 tsp oil and added to the soba. And served it topped with grilled prawns on skewers! Exotic combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
If you want to eat a healthy dish, you've got one here! The dressing is very good; subtly sweet and nice addition of sesame and sesame oil. I also added cooked and cubed chicken and chopped mango. This turned out to be a healthy yet hearty meal itself. I became a fan of soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Really good, leftovers were even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Went to the Japanese grocery and got all of the ingredients, Followed the recipe to the "t" and won't make it again. The sweetness of the vinegar and sugar completely defeated the smokey savory flavors of the soy and sesame. This hodge podge of flavors lacked subtlety, turned my stomach and left us looking for something else to eat to make up for a terrible dinner. My thoughts: Omit or reduce white sugar. Substitute Tamari (a darker stronger soy sauce) for regular soy. And for goodness sake... ORDER OUT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I served this to my husband and a house guest, and I thought I'd have enough for left overs... wrong, they ate every last drop. What more could you ask for - inexpensive, quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I LOVE this, reminds me of a salad we had in the Deli I worked at. I used blanched julienned carrots and bell peppers and sugar snap peas, and omitted the broccoli. I toasted the sesame seeds on a low flame in a fry pan. I also doubled it for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I found this delicious and would definitly recommend it. However, I served it hot and would suggest adding some fried shallots. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
This is the best soba recipe that I have tried. If you have time, I would steam the broccoli for 3 or 4 minutes. Very fast, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States