Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My husband and I both liked this recipe, although we made a few modifications. We blanched the broccoli, decreased the sesame seeds to 2-3 Tbsp (1/2 cup was a little overwhelming, and my husband thinks we should add 2 Tbsp of peanut butter to the sauce the next time we prepare it. We will definately be making this recipe with a few minor modifications again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. Let it cool to room temperature -- the flavor is better. I ate it before a hocky game and swear it increased my energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This is a nice, LIGHT dish, which is typical of many asian noodle dishes - especially cold ones. Yum yum! I made this dish two days in a row! The second time I substituted the balsamic vinegar for rice wine vinegar, and the result was an even lighter taste. Although both are good, I think I'll stick to the balsamic. :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is a great easy recipe. I subbed rice vinegar for the balsamic and added honey because I didn't have white sugar. I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was very good. I added extra noodles, when 8 ounces looked like a very meager amount. I also added chicken and thinly sliced cucumbers. It was similar to noodle bowls we ate when we were living in Australia. I might opt to add some sliced cabbage in place of the broccoli (which I did steam lightly) next time. Definitely one to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe. Not vinegary at all. Use balsamic only and stick to the recipe amounts. I didn't have broccoli but I did have some cold leftover chicken. I shredded the chicken and threw it in with the dressing. By the time the noodles were done and drained, the chicken took on a lovely brown coloring and flavor. Sesame seeds are the key to this recipe, don't skimp if you don't have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
as a vegetarian, i am always looking for new and tasty dishes to serve my family and others. this one really missed the mark i'm quite sorry to say. :( the flavor was somewhat on the sweet side, but overall rather bland. i'm glad i was not cooking this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Sorry, but I really didn't like this. The sauce smelled good while I was making it, but as soon as I mixed in the noodles, all I could smell was the vinegar. I decided to try it anyway, and let it sit for 30 minutes as the recipe suggests, but it still tasted vinegar-y, and I thought there were far too many sesame seeds. Maybe I did something wrong? Thanks for the post anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Best noodle dish I've ever had:) Add one grilled chicken breast strips and red/yellow pepper strips (nuked in microwave for 1 min) and mix it with the noodle and sit overnight in the fridge. Reheat in microwave for about 1 min for luke warm and serve! YUMMY and healthy!! Ty for the wonderful recipe. BTW, you can stir fry sesame seeds in a dry heated wok for about 1-2 minutes with constant stirring instead of using oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I've tried this recipe for myself and my husband and really liked it. Served it recently for some friends of mine and got rave reviews. I did blanch the broccoli first though and I've tried it with frozen peas. Tastes even better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States