Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I was really craving a cold noodles dish and this is both delicious and healthy! I think the recipe ingredients may have changed at some point, as reviews stated that cookers subbed balsamic for the rice vinegar and vice versa. Anyway, with that in mind, I used 1T of balsamic, 2T of rice vinegar and 1T of rice wine (along with 5T soy sauce and 2T sesame seed oil, 1.5T sugar, a 2 cloves of garlic), as I doubled the sauce per many suggestions. This is a very versatile dish and any desired veggies can be added. I had leftover steamed zucchini, summer squash and red pepper and it went very well with the sauce and the noodles. I also added imitation crab to my individual serving (not to the whole dish, as it goes bad fairly quickly and I didn't want to ruin my leftovers!). The crab goes really well with the delicate taste. Great submission- thanks, Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I'm from Hawaii and have had tons of soba. This recipe is different and great! I added a sliced red pepper and used more broccoli. I steamed both slightly. Decreased sesame seeds to 1/3c, doubled soy, and added 1 tsp. hoisin and some crushed red pepper. Tasted okay warm but I let sit in the fridge and it made an awesome cold soba! Delicious. My husband stopped in from work today just to have a bowl. Even my 14 month old will eat the noodles, which is miraculous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very tasty, although could probably use a little more of the sesame oil (and a little less of the sesame seeds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was so good. Even my very picky mother enjoyed this dish. I did double the sauce as others had done. Next time I will add some red pepper and edemame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very tasty. If you are a person that is not too keen on cold pasta this is a must try. I subbed rice vinegar and pea pods and added peanut butter. Easy to throw together in the morning and store in the frig until dinnertime. I did make a little extra of the sauce and also added water just before serving because the noodles do soak it up but a pasta to make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was an exceptionally good asian dish. The only thing to consider is measurements for the sauce: I just doubled all liquids. For us this minor adjustment seemed to do the trick. Overall a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I thought this recipe was really rather good. I think I may have over-cooked the noodles because they were little mushy. Wonderful recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was so much better the second day that I would highly recommend making it a day ahead and letting it sit to absorb the flavors. The first night, I thought it was too dry, needed more sauce, and was a bit bland, but it was delicious the next day--it was practically a different dish. I used agave nectar (an unrefined sweetener) instead of sugar. I don't like the texture of raw broccoli, so instead I used pea pods and baby bella mushrooms, which went well with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Sorry not a big fan! I was really excited to try it but just thought it was blan and also letting it set soaked up any sauce that was left. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I thought that this was a delicious side item. My boyfriend made it along with an asian marinated salmon and it was a great meal. The noodles are even better the next day after being in the fridge for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States