Soba with Toasted Sesame Seed Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I'm from Hawaii and have had tons of soba. This recipe is different and great! I added a sliced red pepper and used more broccoli. I steamed both slightly. Decreased sesame seeds to 1/3c, doubled soy, and added 1 tsp. hoisin and some crushed red pepper. Tasted okay warm but I let sit in the fridge and it made an awesome cold soba! Delicious. My husband stopped in from work today just to have a bowl. Even my 14 month old will eat the noodles, which is miraculous. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very tasty, although could probably use a little more of the sesame oil (and a little less of the sesame seeds).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This was so good. Even my very picky mother enjoyed this dish. I did double the sauce as others had done. Next time I will add some red pepper and edemame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Very tasty. If you are a person that is not too keen on cold pasta this is a must try. I subbed rice vinegar and pea pods and added peanut butter. Easy to throw together in the morning and store in the frig until dinnertime. I did make a little extra of the sauce and also added water just before serving because the noodles do soak it up but a pasta to make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracehatter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was an exceptionally good asian dish. The only thing to consider is measurements for the sauce: I just doubled all liquids. For us this minor adjustment seemed to do the trick. Overall a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I thought this recipe was really rather good. I think I may have over-cooked the noodles because they were little mushy. Wonderful recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was so much better the second day that I would highly recommend making it a day ahead and letting it sit to absorb the flavors. The first night, I thought it was too dry, needed more sauce, and was a bit bland, but it was delicious the next day--it was practically a different dish. I used agave nectar (an unrefined sweetener) instead of sugar. I don't like the texture of raw broccoli, so instead I used pea pods and baby bella mushrooms, which went well with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Sorry not a big fan! I was really excited to try it but just thought it was blan and also letting it set soaked up any sauce that was left. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I thought that this was a delicious side item. My boyfriend made it along with an asian marinated salmon and it was a great meal. The noodles are even better the next day after being in the fridge for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My husband and I both liked this recipe, although we made a few modifications. We blanched the broccoli, decreased the sesame seeds to 2-3 Tbsp (1/2 cup was a little overwhelming, and my husband thinks we should add 2 Tbsp of peanut butter to the sauce the next time we prepare it. We will definately be making this recipe with a few minor modifications again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States