'So This Is What Heaven Tastes Like!' Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
MMM, these are delicious and Melt in your mouth. But I made these leaving out the optional ingredients because of personal preference. Now, I know these were to be made into bars. But once I know I can make a dessert into individual sizes, I usually do that. I made these in a regular muffin pan, generously greased as the recipe stated (no liners needed) and as soon as they were cooled they literally popped out of the pan, perfectly! These baked up so nicely as muffins too and I baked for 25 mins. just as the recipe stated. As I bit into one, I did feel like I was enjoying a piece of heaven! I will be making these often and want to try these as mini muffins too. Thanks for sharing your recipe CookinBug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Excellent, excellent. These are very buttery-tasting, soft shortbread-y bars - totally addictive. I'm not a maraschino fan, but liked the idea of cherries with the chocolate and nuts, so I used chopped dried cherries in mine - fantastic substitution if you like them. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Heavenly! Thanks, Grasshopper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
EXCELLENT! I can't *officially* eat any of these until tomorrow, but I did sneak a few bites and they are truely delicious. They reminded me of a shortbread cookie and a blondie combined...only better! I added all the optional ingredients because I love all of them, and will actually use more cherries than called for next time. I didn't feel the chocolate chips overpowered these at all. They also only took 25 mins. in my oven (as stated in the recipe), but my oven is known to be extra hot, so that could be why I didn't have any problems with the cooking time as other reviewers did. I am definately making these for my cousins wedding in Oct., and can't wait to make them for Christmas and use a combo of red/green maraschino cherries. Thanks for the AWESOME recipe, Bug! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recipe, the bars when warm are greasy and didn't have a cream cheese flavor. I was thought is was going to be more like a cheesecake. Won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I used neufchatel cheese because that is what I had on hand. They came out like a cake-like cheesecake. They were very rich and moist with very nice flavor and mouth-feel. I cut them into bite-sized pieces for portion control!! Everyone at work loved them. I used a shiny 9x13 pan and 25 mins in the oven was perfect because these do continue to bake a little more than expected when removed from the oven. I think any more than that and they would have been overdone and dry. I will definitely make these again and again. UPDATE: These made 48 mini-muffins, plus a little left over batter. They needed 16 mins in the oven. I greased the pans and they easily popped right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawaiikittychan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly leaving out the optional ingredients. They were very tasty and all of them are gone. I baked in muffin pans as well. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I was expecting a little more cream cheese flavor. Next time I will add a little more cream cheese. This is a keeper! Update---I added about 2oz more cream cheese and they were perfect! 5 stars second time around. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
My son, Carlos Jr. helped me make these and of course he got the first one out of oven and said " They were Very Very AWESOME!!!! They were just the right sweetness, very moist. I followed this recipe to the letter except for the bar part. I also used muffin pans. Next time I would like to add extra cherries.MPO:) Thank You Cooking Bug for an excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were not "bars" at all. The 3 eggs made this very dense and cakey. I was expecting more of a cheesecake flavor, but the cream cheese is hardly noticeable. The texture was heavy and thick. They also took 45 minutes to cook and was still a little raw in the middle when I removed it from the oven. I was disappointed and ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These bake up so nice! Really yummy! I left the nuts out altogether and made an 8x8 pan with just chocolate chips (for the kids) and another 8x8 pan with chocolate chips and dried cherries. Both were good but the dried cherries really took these bars to the next level. I went a little light on the dried cherries because I wasn't sure how it would taste.. next time I will definitely add more..YUM! Brought these to two different houses of people and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. And sent it to work with my husband. They liked it, but said things like, "there are cherries in this but you can not taste them." The same was said about the chocolate chips and nuts. Next time I will add more cherries, nuts, and chocolate chips. This also took longer than 25 mintues to bake and my oven is very accurate. I would make it again with some changes. I will add a chocolate drizzle on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States