'So This Is What Heaven Tastes Like!' Cream Cheese Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
So after a comparision, I've come to the decision that some recipes just weren't meant to ne "healthified." I made an 8x8 following the recipe ingredients and another 8x8 subbing in other ingredients. My so-called healthier version just didn't come close. Definitely stick to the recipe next time, just don't eat to many if I don't want to be bigger than a size 2. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Will definitely make this one regularly. There goes the diet, again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
These were very yummy!! I think next time I will add more cherries and nuts because I loved them!!!!! I didn't find these at all dry but a nice little slice of heaven and ohhh so rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Just made these last night finally and they were yummy. Although I did take another user's suggestion and add an extra 2 oz of cream cheese and it took nearly 40 minutes for mine to cook. They were yummy though. I'll def make again soon! I didn't add the cherries and nuts due to allergies in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I used neufchatel cheese because that is what I had on hand. They came out like a cake-like cheesecake. They were very rich and moist with very nice flavor and mouth-feel. I cut them into bite-sized pieces for portion control!! Everyone at work loved them. I used a shiny 9x13 pan and 25 mins in the oven was perfect because these do continue to bake a little more than expected when removed from the oven. I think any more than that and they would have been overdone and dry. I will definitely make these again and again. UPDATE: These made 48 mini-muffins, plus a little left over batter. They needed 16 mins in the oven. I greased the pans and they easily popped right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawaiikittychan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I liked the maraschino cherries in this bar. I also melted leftover chocolate chips on the top of the bars a few minutes before pulling them out of the oven. I think this improved them. The cream cheese is a dominant flavor, and the cookie is more crumbly than moist. This isn't a very sweet cookie, and all though I found them good, the majority unfortunately was wasted on my picky family who likes traditional foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I used Dried Cranraisins,nuts and reeses chips. Okay I guess. Cooked for about 35 minutes with 2 additional oz of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Yum!.. I've been wanting to make these for some time and finally did! I only made some minor changes due to what I had: marschino cherries, pecans, 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips and baked for 40 minutes as others suggested. I know I'll be making these over and over again! Thanks CB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
EXCELLENT! I can't *officially* eat any of these until tomorrow, but I did sneak a few bites and they are truely delicious. They reminded me of a shortbread cookie and a blondie combined...only better! I added all the optional ingredients because I love all of them, and will actually use more cherries than called for next time. I didn't feel the chocolate chips overpowered these at all. They also only took 25 mins. in my oven (as stated in the recipe), but my oven is known to be extra hot, so that could be why I didn't have any problems with the cooking time as other reviewers did. I am definately making these for my cousins wedding in Oct., and can't wait to make them for Christmas and use a combo of red/green maraschino cherries. Thanks for the AWESOME recipe, Bug! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I made these for my son and his wife to take to the coast as they were going to meet her family for a vacation. She called back this am and said everyone wanted the recipe so they could make more today, so I would say they are a hit. Now I am going to make some for us. Thank you CookinBug for making me look like a "good cook" to my daugher in laws family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States