So Moist Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I added a little bit of oil to make it a little more moist but it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Diane West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Moist, bright red with hint of chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Absolutely the best Red Velvet Cake I have ever put in my mouth. The others must have done something wrong cause the one I made was moist and perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
In my opinion, any cake that calls for shortening is dry. I always sub canola oil for shortening or butter in a cake recipe. Also, you need 2 ounces of red food coloring to achieve the vibrancy this cake is known for. Self-rising flour is not necessary either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
very dry cake will not make again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This cake wasnt as dry as a few of the reviews have said but it could have been more moist. It definitely doesnt live up to the name "so moist" red velvet cake. Other then that it wasnt bad. If I were to make this again I would make more icing too but I'll probably look for another red velvet cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is a very rich cake, and the person before me was right. It is VERY dry. I added less than 1/4 cup veggie oil and baked at a temp of 350 degrees for 10- 15 minutes longer. It came out very fluffy. I didn't find it too sweet. In fact, most Red Velvet Cake recipes call for 1 and 1/2 cup sugar. I also added another tablespoon of cocoa powder and mixed my ingredients differently so that I could stir less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It was vary dry and crumbly. I used it for cupcakes and they didn't even come out as on peice. To top it off it was a little too sweet. Will be looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenag24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States