Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Just finished making these cookies, they are AMAZING! Just like my grandma used to make. Light and airy but still crunchy! I read that you shouldn't use salted butter.. I did and they came out a little flat. Not extremly flat, but not the ball I rolled before putting in the oven. That doesn't even matter though because they are SO good! I would definitally recommend. I'm going to make another double batch tomorrow for the holidays because they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was not what I was looking for but they are great! They are an airy version of a Sandies pecan shortbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lechealpina
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
OMG These were great! I only had some brown sugar and ground pecan and they turned out amazing! I had them for 20 minutes in the oven in the upper rack and this was enough. I tried with the first batch what I read about double coating them with sugar while hot and after and I thought it was too much. The second batch I only coated them after they cooled and they were just perfect! Thank you for this easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechealpina

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I have made these a few times now and they are wonderful. I was trying to find a recipe for my Father-in-Law that resembled cookies his mom used to make with the pecans off their tree in Texas and I was successful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Verygood recipe. I made these for Christmas and found that the advice to wait until they are completely cooled before rolling in powdered sugar.....is great advice!! I didn't and now know why!! Not the best I've tasted...but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've used this recipe for about 3 years and have never had problems with the dough flattening out. Perhaps people are melting the butter instead of softening it at room temperature?? Also, you can definitely taste the salt in this cookie. I like that contrast between salty and sweet. But it can be overwhelming. Be sure to use real, unsalted butter and reduce the salt from 3/4 tsp to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These are amazing. I make them every Christmas and they don't last long! I also roll them in the powdered sugar twice. I've made with both pecans and walnuts and they come out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Just like Mom's! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My dough was a little dry and they wouldn't take form. I added some water to the mix and they were perfect. My mistake was perhaps melting the butter and then mixing it with the sugar. I don't know what went wrong with the dough, but howerver they were a success. I love the taste of them and will share my batch with my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States