Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Best recipe I've ever tried. Have been making this for about 10 yrs. Just never rated it. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEESAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Served at a church gathering and enjoyed more than any other cookie brought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Since I found this recipe three years ago, I make these every year for Christmas. It reminds me of the ones my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Limaville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I thought the recipe was absolutely awesome but the time was off. I have a pretty new oven so I think the temp is right on. But 25 minutes was way to long on these cookies. They were hard as rocks. I tried the next batch for 15 minutes and they were perfect! The best tasting snowball cookies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I tried this recipe for a cookie exchange party my neighbors and I were having. I had the oven temp on 350 and cooked the first batch WAY too long. But if you have it on 350 degrees and leave them in for 12-13 mins or until golden brown on the bottom, they come out MAGNIFICENT. In fact, I won 2nd place in the cookie exchange, and some people were actually mad mine didn't win! Great holiday recipe! Must try at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I read several reviews and didn't see anything about the amount of vanilla in the recipe -- it does say 1 Tablespoon, right? I couldn't quite get myself to add that much, I stuck with a teaspoon, guessing it was a type-o. I also cut back on the salt and used walnuts since that's what I had. I used granulated sugar since that's what the recipe said, and mine turned out roundish, not flat like some other reviewers. I liked what someone suggested, storing them in a ziplock of powdered sugar. Although these cookies were good, i think the snowballs I sampled at Costco (from a mix) were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These are a Christmas tradition at our house. Use good quality butter or margarine to prevent cookies from flattening out. Some margarines contain WATER. Look for a higher calorie count to get a margarine with the least water. I like to use almond extract instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I needed a snowball recipe for my daughter's wedding and made this one without taste testing first. It was fantastic and easy to make. It definetly will go into my "recipe box" for Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
So easy to make and so good! My mother made these all the time so I was happy to find this recipe. I use chopped walnuts instead of pecans simply because that's our preference. Great for Christmas cookies or any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I have made these a couple times referencing the other similar recipes on the site as well and to turn this into a 5 star recipe I just changed the sugar to 1 cup confectioners sugar, I find it makes for a more delicate treat. I also roll them in the confectioners sugar both while hot and again 15 minutes later while cool. I sometimes use walnuts or almonds instead of pecans, just depends on what I have around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States