Snowballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
LOVED these! My kids weren't keen on the nuts that I added, which worked out great for me & I ate the lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I like this recipe, but if you don't use UNSALTED butter, the recipe WILL be too salty. I tried to make them with margargine to appease my husband and they came out tasting like a salt lick!! Every other time I have made them they have come out great. I do make them on the small side, because since they are covered in powdered sugar, they tend to be too messy if you have to take a couple bites of them. It is better to make them small enough to pop in your mouth in one bite. I also use silicone baking mats opposed to greasing my baking sheets and wait for the bottoms to just be slightly browned. before I remove them from the oven. When they have cooled COMPLETELY, I put a whole bunch of powdered sugar in one or two sealable bags (depending on the size I have on hand) and drop in the cookies. I shake them and leave them in there until I am ready to serve them, that way the sugar doesn't soak in and they look beautiful and perfect all covered in "snow".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I have not made Snowballs in years and was glad to find a recipe similar to mine. These are so easy to make and taste wonderful. However, I would suggest mixing the dough, shaping into a ball and chilling it for about an hour prior to making cookie balls. I didn't do this at first and ended up doing so. The dough was much easier to work with and the cookies came out perfect with no flattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
good christmas cookies! Just like I remember. I agree to roll the dough twice in the powdered sugar - once right after the cookies come out of the oven and then again a few minutes later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I lost my recipe for Snowballs, which I make every year for Christmas, and while these were not as good as the ones I've made in the past, they are pretty good! I would suggest making them smaller rather than larger in size, they are not as doughy this way and you get more icing sugar per mouthful of cookie this way: definitley delicious. Also, as some of the users have said in the other reviews, rolling them (or as I did, filling a bowl with icing sugar and shaking the cookies in the bowl for a less dense coating) in the icing sugar while hot, then letting them cool and sifting new icing sugar over them makes them taste soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
mmm... this sounds great an easy for the grandkids to even help with .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
delicious. Wouldn't change a thing. Huge hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
During the Christmas holiday I made 6 different types of cookies. These were the easiest and most delicious of them all. I couldn't believe how fast they disappeared. These cookies are absolutly wonderful and are now a permanent part of my Holiday cookie tray. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Delicious cookie. In an effort to preserve the round shape, I too put mine in the frige prior to baking - they still came out mound shaped. Covered with powdered sugar, they look more like igloos than snow balls, so that's what I'm going to call mine. Thanks for a great cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Tasty and delish! A definite keeper. All the girls at the office raved about these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States