Snowballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a very festive cookie for Christmas. It's a great cookie for people who love nutty cookies or shortbreads. It's almost exactly the same as a Russian tea cake recipe from Betty Crocker's web site. The only variation is 3/4 cup finely chopped nuts instead of 1 cup chopped pecans. Also, the baking instruction was 400 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes. Next time I will try 350 degrees for 15 minutes to see if the cookies turn out even better. Also, I made another batch of dough using 3/4 cup toasted coconut instead of chopped nuts to put in the freezer for later use. I think that will yield delicious cookies for coconut fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
my mum made these wonderful cookies every Christmas when I was a child. We loved them!!!! I had lost the recipe, and was THRILLED to find it here. It is perfect, as is. I made them yesterday. I expected my 4 children might like them, but I thought they would prefer other cookies, because these are not that sweet. When I asked them tonight, which cookie they like the best, they all agreed. This is the BEST Christmas cookie mum has ever made (and I usually bake at least 20 different kinds!!!) Thank you, thank you, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
Love it! Love it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
My mother used to make these. This is just like her verion. Thanks!! A lady at the office is making me give her the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is a GREAT and easy version of this cookie. I highly recommend it. It was a success with everyone here at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
These cookies are very elegant and delicious! I substituted walnuts for pecans, and they came out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This made an absolutely divine cookie!! Nice and crumbly and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ruby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This was so easy, I chopped the pecans in my little food processor. The best tasting snowballs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
These cookies are soooo good. I remember making them a few years ago, but couldn't find the recipe. These were just like them. Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noshin Chambers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
My Grandma makes these cookies every Christmas, and this recipe tastes just like hers. They are very good. I only used 1/2 cup of pecans because a full cup seemed like too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States