Snowballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I've been making these for years but had lost my recipe. This is identical to what I'm used to making....absolutely delicious! A few hints for bakers trying this the first time....use real butter, not margarine. Not only will the cookies bake better but part of the wonderful flavor they have is how buttery they taste. The butter flavor does intensify a bit after a couple of days. Also, the easiest way I've found to coat each cookie with the powdered sugar is by using a covered plastic container. Pour powdered sugar in the container and add a few cookies at a time. Shake them gently to coat. They don't look too coated after the first time, but the second coating will give you the beautiful snowball look that these cookies are famous for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I have made this cookie many ways. I always come back to this variation as I think it is the nicest looking. I keep my cookies well chilled prior to baking. I also bake these at 325 degrees for 20 mins. Now when making the balls for the cookies I incorporate the whole familys help. With Christmas such a busy time you can relax with these as they are simple ( balls a little time consuming) taste great and go over well. Thanx for a nice recipe! I almost always add 2 tablespoons of vanilla and a half of almond or rum flavoring.Sounds like alot of flavoring but taste yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is snowball perfection! Reviewers who don't follow this to the tee are missing out. I sell these in my shop and they fly out the door. Suggestions - Use cookie scoop #60 and bake until just golden, approx 11 - 12 minutes and immediately toss in generous amount of confectioners sugar. Lift out by the bottom with fork, tap, and then place into 8AA cupcake liners. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi's Desserts

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
My recipe for these cookies is very similar but after 40 years of using mine, I am switching to this recipe. These were by far the best I have ever eaten. The buttery taste of real butter is so much better than the margarine I have been using. Thank you so much for this recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Note that these don't spread or rise, so you can bake a bunch on the cooky sheet, which makes the preparation time for these balls much less than the average cooky. This is such a classic, it's hard to think anybody couldn't find them in a comprehensive cookbook. I've got some old books from the '50's, and they have it, too. The nuts, I've found, are best if ground almost to a powder; small chunks can make them crumble even as you roll them. You need not restrict yourself to almonds, either; almonds are wonderful, especially if you add about a tsp. of almond extract, with, or instead of, the vanilla. Here's a tip: chill the dough before forming balls. It makes it a bunch easier. Also, if the dough wants to stick to your hands, keep them dampened with clean water when rolling the balls. Oh, and don't forget the second dusting with confectioner's (10x) sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
PERFECT!! I wouldn't change a thing. This cookie just melts in your mouth and it is SO easy to make. A little messy with the confectioner's sugar + candy cane powder, but once you establish a system, it's not as awkward. I felt it was easiest/cleanest to do it with tongs. I even made a batch with white whole wheat flour, and it tasted wonderful; just added to the nutty buttery taste but made it just a tad healthier! =P I found smaller balls baked more like balls. If the ball was too large, it would start to flatten slightly into a mound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
my mum made these wonderful cookies every Christmas when I was a child. We loved them!!!! I had lost the recipe, and was THRILLED to find it here. It is perfect, as is. I made them yesterday. I expected my 4 children might like them, but I thought they would prefer other cookies, because these are not that sweet. When I asked them tonight, which cookie they like the best, they all agreed. This is the BEST Christmas cookie mum has ever made (and I usually bake at least 20 different kinds!!!) Thank you, thank you, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is a very festive cookie for Christmas. It's a great cookie for people who love nutty cookies or shortbreads. It's almost exactly the same as a Russian tea cake recipe from Betty Crocker's web site. The only variation is 3/4 cup finely chopped nuts instead of 1 cup chopped pecans. Also, the baking instruction was 400 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes. Next time I will try 350 degrees for 15 minutes to see if the cookies turn out even better. Also, I made another batch of dough using 3/4 cup toasted coconut instead of chopped nuts to put in the freezer for later use. I think that will yield delicious cookies for coconut fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is absolutely fabulous! My husband says that this recipe is better than the one his mama made! Ssshhh!!! Don't tell her!! The only thing that worried me is that the dough was crumbly...For those who are worried about that...DON'T!!! It's the way it's supposed to be! I learned that! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe definitely needs more vanilla; I soak the nuts on vanilla a bit before adding them. I saw some comments about the cookies being hard or dry, this might be because the butter is not at room temperature or not well creamed, the butter needs to look like mayonnaise before adding the rest of the ingredients; if the butter is runny or semi melted the cookies turn out hard, on the other hand if the butter is cold or firm the cookies crumble and turn out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States