Snowballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
After devouring a pecan tea cookie at Specialty's over the holidays and finding out they were for a limited time only, I scoured the internet looking for a recipe similar to the buttery concoction at Specialty's! This, by far, is the closest I have come to recreating that confectionary treat! Tips: Like other users have stated, use real butter and it is better if the butter is at room temperature. I also substituted the vanilla extract for a bit of maple extract to intensify the pecan flavor and it was delicious! To powder the balls, I used a large ziploc bag filled with powdered sugar and tossed in about 5 at a time (while still warm) to get a nice coat. Once cooled, I tossed them back into the ziploc bag for the second coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Easy to make, hence 2 stars. Tasteless, powdery & dry, even tho I undercooked them. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I made a batch last might. My friend usually makes them and brings in a bagful for my 'Christmas' present..which I look forward to every year. I decided to try for myself..so EASY. I only used 1/2 C chopped pecans. I don't want 'pecan' cookies. They came out GREAT. The dough is supposed to be crumbly, but sticks together when you shape into a ball due to the butter. I baked them at 350 for 15 min, no problems, not underdone or overcooked. I made smaller ones, less than a tbsp each and cooked those for 12 min. I think the smaller the less time you need to bake them. I would recommend everyone make these they are easy and delicious. Hopefully my friend keeps making them for Christmas I do not mind receiving them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Perfect recipe! It took a little while longer to bake (perhaps because I like to have mines a little brown around the edges) but it makes for a perfect holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MauiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are my favorite cookies! I'm so glad I came across this recipe. Thanks for sharing!!! :) The ONLY thing I did differently was that I used 2 tsp vanilla extract instead of 1... and I'm not a fan of mint so I didn't use the candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karolyn122

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Big hit at a christmas party! I didn't roll in peppermint, but otherwise followed the recipe. These would be fun rolled in red or green sugar too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are my new favorite holiday cookies....so simple and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly the first time and they were wonderful. The second batch I made I used walnuts and that was also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Dont alter anything! These are perfect as they are! We dip the raw dough balls in red and green sugar before baking, or we use a vanilla glace after baking. These are simply delicious! Everyone's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
They were very good, kind of a dry type of cookie though, I dipped mine in icing and rolled them in coconut to make them look more like snowballs, but also to give them a little something extra to take away the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I tried these today and they tasted sooooo good I didn't expect that thy will give this flavor from so little ingredients They tast amazing when they just come out of the oven Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States