Snowballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are wonderful! People who don't really like peppermint loved these! I ground the candy canes in my food processor and that worked really well, but it didn't add much in terms of appearance - it just tinted them pink a bit. The amount of peppermint flavor was perfect, but these are great without the peppermint, too!! Just melt-in-your-mouth wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These cookies are perfect as the recipe is written. In fact, being my favorite holiday cookie, I was delighted to find this recipe because my grocery store ran out of these holiday favorites weeks before Christmas. I didn't use the peppermint candy canes because I desired the original recipe, but I will try the peppermint the next time I make these. I did only one thing that was not in accordance with the recipe, I made my cookies just a smidgeon larger than the recipe called for, which meant a "three bite" cookie. These are so delicate, I would make them no larger than one tablespoon before making into a ball. A giant thank you for such a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALNANGELZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Loved this! I toasted the pecans before adding to the mix. (Let them cool first) Also, when packing I added a little extra powdered sugar to the bag/tin to absorb any moisture and they never stuck together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I make these every year and every year I misplace the recipe! I have finally set up my recipe box and added this recipe to it. My Mom loves these (though she does not need all the sugar but can have a couple a day) and this is the perfect recipe. I shall never again have to search for these exact ingredients. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S-Martian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These turned out really yummy! I followed the recipe exactly! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Amazingly easy. Everybody raved about these! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Like others, I made these cookies for years from my mother's recipe. So when I couldn't find the recipe I came here. This one looked the closest, and when I tasted the first one I said to my husband, "Oh yeah, this. is. the cookie!" In my oven the 15 minutes was a little too long, more like 12-13. It's also a good idea to let them cool a bit before the first coating in powdered sugar. They're very tender when hot and can easily break apart. But a few minutes on the rack and they're ready to roll! Oh, and ditto on the real butter. Not only will the flavor not compare with margarine, the texture of the dough won't be right either. Margarine has too much water in it and will have adverse effects on the consistency of the dough. Thank you so much, Lori. When you bite into a cookie and it takes you back to childhood, well, you just can't ask for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Best if undercooked slightly and rolled into bit size balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written with the exception of using walnuts instead of pecans. The dough was crumbly but was easy to work with. I easily made the 1 inch balls using just a little pressure to squeeze the dough together. These taste just like the recipe I grew up having. This recipe is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was my first time actually making Mexican Wedding Cakes. I do beliveve they are the best I've ever eaten. Based on previous reviews, I did add and extra 1/2 tsp vanilla, but otherwise follwed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States