Snowballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My favorite cookies. My family also loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
add some Frangelico and undercook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Perfect cookies -there are other recipe for these but this is best -must use powder sugar in cookie along with real butter so smooth and rich ..excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I make these every Christmas - they are as pretty as they are delicious! The crushed peppermint is a nice touch for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are perfect Christmas cookies! Perfect for those parents who have little ones that want to help, too! My 4 year old loved rolling these in the "candy cane snow" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaLC28

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Note that these don't spread or rise, so you can bake a bunch on the cooky sheet, which makes the preparation time for these balls much less than the average cooky. This is such a classic, it's hard to think anybody couldn't find them in a comprehensive cookbook. I've got some old books from the '50's, and they have it, too. The nuts, I've found, are best if ground almost to a powder; small chunks can make them crumble even as you roll them. You need not restrict yourself to almonds, either; almonds are wonderful, especially if you add about a tsp. of almond extract, with, or instead of, the vanilla. Here's a tip: chill the dough before forming balls. It makes it a bunch easier. Also, if the dough wants to stick to your hands, keep them dampened with clean water when rolling the balls. Oh, and don't forget the second dusting with confectioner's (10x) sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent, Excellent! A keeper in my recipe book! I found if my butter was slightly melted the dough was not crumbly at all. I also took a cup of chopped pecans and put in a plastic ziplock and rolled with a rolling pin to crush even more. The smaller the nut the better in my opinion. I baked only 10 minutes...much better under baked. Store in air tight container or they will dry out quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWIMYFISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I loved these cookies. I did the peppermint cancy cane part but didn't really taste it?? However, that did not take away from the great taste of these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are my favorite holiday cookie!! I followed the recipe as given excluding the candy cane. I only baked mine for 12 minutes instead of the 15. Also I would like to note that I tripled the recipe and only got about 110 not the 180. My cookies were small in size so I would just make sure you at least double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States