Snowball Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Absolutely love this cake!! The only addition I made was 3/4 cup of chipped walnuts. My family are nut freaks!! It was a great cake to have as an alternative for the non chocolate lovers, since we were also serving the over-the-top rich Candy Bar Cake. I know, right--I didn't know there were actually people who don't like chocolate;). But, honestly it was truly a lite and refreshing cake, and as others have mentioned, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Mom would make this cake EVERY Christmas...oh man it's so good! It's not overly sweet either...she would make the cake part the night before, then the next morning would put the whipped cream (cool whip) and coconut on it. Shame it was only once a year...but one thing she let us do was ask: "what do you want for breakfast?" I'd say "CAKE!" She knew I'd say that LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a very old recipe that my grandmother used to make around the holidays. The original recipe called a 9 x 13 pan. And the recipe called for "dream whip" which is what we had before cool whip was ever thought of. I still make it with dream whip on occassion as many have forgot what it tastes like. We topped the dessert with coconut and put 12 stemmed cherries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I have made this for years, only I put in a 8X10 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Great! Makes a lot, too - good for a crowd. I brought about half of mine to work and everybody here loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Tastes just like my Great randma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McKeel
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
this was great! looked very impressive, i omitted the unflavored gelatin,lemon juice and the cup of sugar. used i package of sugar free lemon jello,1 3/4 cups of boiling liquid (water and drained pineapple juice combined )also used low fat cool whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I made this for my January Bunco group and they absolutely loved it. It was a little difficult to make, but the presentation was great. I put it on my pedestal cake plate and it looked like a great big snowball. It was very light and refreshing. I did add the vanilla pudding but I don't think it was worth it and I found I needed 2 angel food cakes. I also added 1 t. coconut extract to the pineapple filling and it was very good! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This cake is gorgeous, delicious and fun.. I made it for my bosses birthday - who is on weight watchers. It was a huge hit. It tasted great a couple of days later too!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
This is a delightfuly easy and scrumpious cake! I made it for a wedding shower and garnished it with fresh pansies from my garden. It was beautiful and tasted out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States