Snow Peak Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My Mom made this recipe all the years my brothers and I were growing up, all we had was home grown products and homemade desserts. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Henson Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
No taste. I even added extra vanilla and some conf. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
this has no flavor at all, more for looks than anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I needed something extra for a peach cobbler, so I modified this recipe as a great topping. Instead of using light corn syrup, I used the light syrup from a can of peaches, and upped the vanilla extract to about 3 teaspoons. It turned out a great substitute for vanilla ice cream, which I didnt have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is soooo easy and very yummy! I added about a tsp of cream of tartar and doubled the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mustardseed
Home Town: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This icing was easy to make with a nice texture, but the taste didn't match. I kept adding vanilla and sugar hoping it would taste better, but it did not improve much. I probably wouldn't use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlynn1020

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This turned out quite nice. very light, creamy, and not too sweet. I doubled the vanilla and I'm glad I did because I was afraid it would be too bland as others have suggested. I also mixed some strawberry preserves into it to frost a white cake. With that addition, it's quite sweet. I initially goofed and used 1.5 cups of corn syrup, but a few teaspoons of confectioners sugar fixed that and added a touch more sweetness. If you're looking for a really sweet icing, this isn't it, but it would be a great compliment to a richer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Bland and strange consistency. Mine tasted like egg whites and not much else, which wasn't what I was going for. I doubled the vanilla and added sugar, but it didn't seem to help much. I should have just gone to the store to buy butter and confectioner's sugar and saved myself the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Good stuff- not too sticky sweet, but still kind of marshmallow-y. Use fresh egg whites (at room temperature). My mother attempted this frosting with egg whites from the box (like All Whites), and the silly things wouldn't turn into a meringue (even though the box claims it will work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I like using this frosting - It is not loaded with fat from margerine or oil and it is not overly sweet. It is light and fluffy and easily spreads on the cake. I followed th eother reviewers and heated the corn syrup in the microwave. I reserved a cup of frosting and after I frosted the cake, I made the reserved frosting into chocolate frosting by adding a combination of cocoa powder and chocolate syrup to keep the consistensy the same - or a bit thicker that the white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States