Snow Ice Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is so fun for the kids to do! Just make sure and remind them to only get clean snow:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countrygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Make sure you wait until after the first deep snowfall before gathering snow. I add the vanilla and sugar to taste. Evaporated milk gives a creamier texture than milk. For an extra treat, stir in wild berries. Store leftover snow cream in the freezer. This is a winter treat for all ages
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainie in Alaska
Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
first time we made this my kids love it we will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
yum. We used a less packed snow and the consistency was outstanding, soft, fluffy,creamy melt in you mouth kind of good. My 3 year old loves to help make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTirado
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I've never heard it called Snow Ice Cream. Where I'm from (N Alabama/ S Tennessee) we always called it Snow Cream. I love making this everytime it snows (which isn't often) I did discover this year we had a dry powdery snow and it would just not cream, it either stayed powdery and refuse to blend or it would give up and melt. If your like me and usually miss when it starts snowing, I just take my bowl and take the top layer of snow off walls and car hoods where I can see nothing has disturbed the snow. Down here where snow is rare snow cream is one of the few things that make snow in the south extra special. P. S. Mayfield Ice Cream company now makes a really close store bought version of this for those of you wanting to try it and either having germ issues or just no snow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We just had 12 inches of snow (doesn't happen often in Texas) so we made this for the first time. It tasted just like homemade ice cream. Hopefully we can make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Wow! Bring back memories! Yummy! I did heat up my half & half (instead of milk), sugar and vanilla just until sugar melted; then set outside to cool. My kids were amazed at their "talented" mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe is much creamier if you substitute half and half for the milk. Heat the half and half, sugar, and vanilla on the stovetop, stirring constantly just till sugar is dissolved. Refrigerate (or just cover and sit out in the snow!). When the mixture has cooled, stir in enough snow to make ice cream consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Exactly like we made it when I was a kid. No, it's not like ice cream. That's kinda the point. It is simple, yummy and fun. Kids think it's so awesome to eat "ice cream" made out of snow. It's more like a vanilla shake IMO, but worth a try. My aunt used an electric mixer and that gives it a different taste for some reason. I like it hand stirred, but try it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I made this for my sons tonight, and they loved it. They want me to make more tomorrow. I love it because it's a recipe that they can make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANISAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States