Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The house smelt beautiful when these were baking. Used limd zest instead of orange because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
These definitely had a great flavor, but I would add more orange zest and more cinnamon next time. At about 2 and 1/4 cups of flour, the dough seemed perfect, so I didn't add the other 1/4 suggested. That would have made it too dry, in my humble opinion. They came out beautifully from the cookie press- very easily and not messy. Also, just a note, I didn't have anything but margarine, so I figured I would use that (not the shortening). Dough and flavor did not suffer with that substitution. All butter and/or margarine can be used in this recipe. 11 minutes was perfect in my oven, but check them after 10. I like my cookies a little under-done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe worked great in the cookie press and the orange peel and cinnamon really put the flavor over the top. I used butter instead of shortening. These were the holiday cookies that disappeared the quickest this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was a great recipe! Didn't have butter flavored crisco so I use 1/2 cup crisco and 1/2 cup butter. Turned out quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have been making these for the past few Christmas's. We love them. I substitute butter for the shortening. After cooling, I melt white chocolate and milk chocolate for dipping some of the cookies half-way for a fancier look and taste. Adding sprinkles, crushed peppermint, or drizzling the opposite choc. over them adds even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe just as written, the cookie batter would not come out of my cookie shooter very well and they did not cook right. I had to leave them in longer than I wanted because they would not come off the cookie sheets because the cookie was so soft, like it was not done. They tasted good the same day I made them, the next day they were hard and not soft at all. I will go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Extremely easy to make and delicious! I doubled the recipe (and used butter, I saw too late it was shortening :)) and we know have lots of small cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
My favorite spritz cookie recipe!! I make them every year. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are yummy! I didn't have butter flavored shortening so I use 1/2 regular shortening and 1/2 real butter. Turned out great. I also glazed the tops. I did find that I preferred baking them for 8-9 minutes instead of the 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willcox, Arizona, USA
Living In: Roscoe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mwade
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
The only change I made was adding the zest of an entire orange. THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. I haven't made any spritz cookies because I consider them to be a boring cookie, lol. This recipe intrigued me with the addition of cream cheese, orange zest and cinnamon. It didn't disappoint! The dough worked perfectly in my cookie press. I was using a Martha Stewart press I got for Christmas last year. This batch made almost 9 dozen cookies! I decorated them with sanding sugars, but I have even bigger plans for the next batch. I'm going to make an orange glaze and apply after baking. You could still add sugars for whatever holiday! I plan on adding this recipe to my cookie baking arsenal! It's a winner! My house smells a-m-a-z-i-n-g right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States