Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Nice change from hard, bland, traditional spritz cookies. These cookies turn out soft, and the cream cheese gives a nice, subtle tang to the flavor. However, I made a few changes by using 1/2c. of butter-flavored shortening and 1 stick of margarine instead of the 1 c. of butter-flavored shortening listed in the recipe. I also reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp. and added 15 drops of green food coloring. With the tree-shaped die inserted in the cookie press, the recipe yielded 72 cookies. I baked them on a parchment-lined, pre-heated baking stone for 10 minutes until well set but not brown on the edges. Then I took the cookies out of the oven, let them sit on the stone for two more minutes, removed them from the stone, and cooled them on a wire rack - they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JDena
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is an old handed down family recipe. We LOVE it very much! We always have to double the recipe because they literally FLY off the wire racks. If you don't do orange zest/orange rind you can use 1-2 TBS of frozen OJ concentrate (that's what we usually do). Love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
These are, by far, the best "spritz" cookies I have ever had, and that includes my own mothers'.The orange zest and the cream cheese are absolutely perfect together. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Hey,everyone I have to tell you I got this website from a friend of mine and I have to tell you. I'm not a baker! No one could belive I made these. Including myself! They looked picture perfect, and tasted great! That being said I made this recipe and took them to the office for Christmas, they were a HUGE HIT. And trust me if I can make these anyone can!!! Thanx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great. I didn't even really notice the orange/cinnamon flavors. This is much better tasting and easier to handle than the recipe that comes with the pampered chef cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'm very surprised of all the 5 star rates on this cookie. I was slightly too salty and rather tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
My daughter an I tried to make these cookies. I saut tried because we ended up throwing away the cookies we make, they had very little taste. We could not get the dough to come out of the cookie press it was very very stiff. We both experienced at baking, we've NEVER had an experience like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This was a really great recipe. I used real butter instead of butter flavored shortening and I used 2 tsp of almond extract in lieu of the 1 tsp of orange and 1 tsp of vanilla. I also sifted my flour, cinnamon, and salt. I have a convection oven so I'm not sure if that's what made the difference, but I found that especially the snowflake shape tended to get brown around the edges any longer than 10 minutes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
The recipe was great - easy to handle (I did use almond extract for the orange zest as several reviewers suggested), and I was looking forward to trying my new cookie press, which - didn't work (defective part). So, I made the best of the situation, and made cookies using a cookie stamp. The taste of the cookies is great, and I iced them with Butter Icing for Cookies (from this site). Next time - I'll use a cookie press, but the stamp was a fine substitute under the circumstances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very good recipe. Dough was just the right texture for my cookie press. I did not notice any "aftertaste" like some reviewers describe. The addition of the orange zest was perfect for adding just a little something extra. I followed the recipe as written except that I used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States