Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Classic spritz cookie recipe! Absolutely fantastic!! The dough turned out beautiful and worked perfect in my spritz cookie press. The only change that I made was used almond extract in place of the orange zest. Definitely my "go to" recipe for spritz cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was my first time making a spritz cookie and using a cookie press, and I'm so glad I used this recipe! The dough is very easy to work with, and the flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dancing Queen
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
The dough worked great with my cookie press. I used almond extract in place of the orange. I found that baking these on my faberware cookie sheet produced a better cookie where my airbake sheet left them falling apart. This was the first time I made a spritz type cookie and while I am not a fan of the flavor on a regular basis, the still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Alterations I made... 1/2 Butter flavored shortening 1/2 Butter 1 and 1/4 tsp almond extract instead of the orange zest I added the almond because the flavor is a signature to me when it comes to spritz. Like mom makes. These spritz turned out wonderful, great flavor with the almond I think. I am going to lower my cook time next time to 7 minutes because even 8 to 9 was way too long for my oven. They ended up browning more even after they were off the pan. That kinda irritated me, but what can you do, live and learn that's what. Possible alterations... I think maybe more cream cheese next time. Around 5 once's maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Loved this recipe, had never made these before, however not new to baking. Adjusted the recipe several times. Used the almond and butter shortening the first go. Too buttery. Used orange zest and cinnamon with 1/2 reg. shortening an 1/2 reg. butter. AMAZING, can't stop eating them. 3rd go omitted orange and cinnamon and added 1 tbs. of almond, good but orange and cinnamon taste better to me. Thanks for sharing this one! Dough was VERY easy to work with. Bought a Wilton cookie press for $5 and worked great. Did only bake them for about 6 or 7 minutes too. Reading the reviews really helped to watch for things and made this so easy, after 1st go I had recipe memorized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iowafan27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was my first-ever cookie press recipe. Read many of the reviews and decided to give it a shot. I followed the recipe exactly and the cookies turned out great! Not too sweet, just a hint of orange, and basically just plain fun to make (and eat). The dough was soft enough to easily fit into the tube and my teenage daughter had no problems pressing out perfect little cookies. We did cut the cooking time down to about 9 minutes but other than that we didn't change anything. Not sure why the complaints- can't wait to try some of the variations people have posted! Glad we chose this recipe to break-in the cookie press and would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I was really excited to include this cookie in my countdown for Christmas 2009. I've never heard of cream cheese in a 3 oz package; I am only familiar with 8 oz. I was confused while reading the ingredients list and decided to go with the 3 oz that the author had. BIG MISTAKE! The dough was very stiff and made very rough looking cookies. I had hope that things would smooth out after baking...they did not. There was an awful flour taste. I decided to include the other 5 oz of cream cheese for a total of 8 oz - PERFECT! The texture was beautiful and very easy to work with. I didn't think the flavor combination was anything to get excited over. Thanks, but no thanks - I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
ok, followed recipe exactly. I have a battery operated cookie press, dont know if that played into it, but the dough was way too thick to come out of the press. Did not work at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Excellent recipe. Worked great in my cordless cookie press, even my 4 year old made beautiful snowflakes! I used 1/2 C. shortening and 1/2 C butter. Tastes good but I'd like them to melt in my mouth like the powdered sugar recipes.....those don't work well in my press though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BumbleBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Just had to let you know this is the best spritz cookie recipe around. I did use 1/2 shortening & 1/2 butter along with 1 tsp almond extract and omitted the orange, vanilla & cinnamon. Couldn't have been easier. This recipe worked great with my new Wilton cookie pro Ultra II. about 30 cookies per fill up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Letzelter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States