Snow Flakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Just made these for a cookie exchange. I added almond extract in place of the orange zest. I also replaced the shortning with butter. The cookies were so light and tasty. The only reason I give the recipe four stars is that I was only able to squeeze out 4 dozen, the recipe says it make 6 doz. I even used my smallest cookie press form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is the easiest and best tasting spritz recipe I have made. I used butter instead of shortening. Also, I didn't have any oranges so I used lemon zest and the cookies have a nice lemony after-taste. I would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather9091

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I have looked for a good cookie press recipe and I will look no further! These cookies came out great with an even better flavor! Great cookies and great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I was not familar w/ spritz cookies but they taste alot like shortbread cookies. The dough was very easy to work with and my family really enjoyed them. I now have to make another batch b/c they ate so many of the ones I had planned to give away. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
BEAUTIFUL! This was my first attempt at spritz cookies with my new Villaware power cookie press....OMG! They are PERFECT! Thank you soooo much for the awesome recipe. I've always wanted to make spritz cookies, but everyone's I've ever tried tasted so blah-ho-hum to me. This recipe went thru the press like buttahh....heehee. EASY EASY EASY! I used butter instead of shortening and only put a dash of cinnamon in. Can't wait to make pink heart cookies for Valentines Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique C.
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I just bought a cookie press a couple weeks ago and tried several recipes already. This has got to be the best one! The cookies came out so soft and flavourful, and went through the press so well! I didn't have any orange zest, so I just used some almond extract. I split the dough into three parts and added a few drops of red and green food colouring to each of the other batches and made an assortment of red, green and plain Christmas cookies in different shapes, topped with sugar sprinkles. I'll definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Despite using butter-flavored Crisco the cookies lacked any butter taste. It tasted like Crisco had been used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Jessy, thank you for this wonderful recipe -- my family loves these cookies! This was my first time using a cookie press, so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was easy as pie, and so very delicious. The very slight hint of orange flavor from the zest is perfect. In fact, I may use even a little more zest next time. I had some leftover Nestle's white morsels from another project, so I melted a cup of them in the microwave with a TBS or so of shortening, then stirred in a few drops of orange extract and dipped some of the cooled cookies halfway. Oh my goodness...they were heavenly and looked so pretty with the coating (which set up very nicely so that I could still easily stack the cookies). Again, thank you so very much -- your fantastic recipe has certainly brightened our holidays! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I choose this recipe b/c others said it was easy to go through the cookie press and I wanted to let the kids help. That was not the case at all for me, in fact my husband had a hard time getting the dough to go through. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of evaporated milk. The cookies still tasted wonderful but were too crumbly (probably from the evap milk). I would try another recipe especially if the kids are helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Snow Ice Cream II

Mother Nature helps make this frozen old-timey treat.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States